• by Jeff Diamant
  • Narrated by Jeffrey Kafer
  • 5 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The bizarre true story of the criminals behind the second-largest bank heist in American history.
One night, in a small North Carolina town, a down-on-his-luck guard at Loomis Fargo manages to steal $17 million - literally more than one ton of cash. Despite being caught on camera wheeling the money from the vault to the getaway van, David Ghantt makes off to Mexico before the FBI can blink.
There's just one hitch: Ghantt has entrusted the money to an oddball crew of accomplices who had wooed him into committing this massive theft in the first place - and who, he soon learns, are trying to take him out. Now one of the most wanted men in America, and with the FBI hot on his heels, Ghantt must figure out how to get his money, get away from a hit man, and get even.
In this outrageously entertaining book, Jeff Diamant, the Charlotte Observer's lead reporter on the case, offers the definitive inside account of this astonishing true story that has captivated American audiences on the news.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Gang That Couldn't Steal Straight

I grew up in Charlotte and at the time of the heist still had family in the area so I was able to follow the story by proxy when it came to light. It is the story of mentally challenged amateurs who have one incredibly lucky day and spend the rest of the time that they're free acting like; well acting like mentally challenged amateurs. It's not a bad listen despite numerous mispronunciations by the narrator and it's certainly a unique story.
Read full review

- Me & My Girls

Well written, Well read

Great read (listen). So goofy seems more like fiction. The writer, being a journalist, does a great job of presenting and keeping the multiple threads of the story clear. At the same time, he gives each of the players life and actually makes them sympathetic - albeit comic - characters.
Read full review

- Nicktirebiter

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-17-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.