Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The hunter becomes the hunted....
When a man is found dead at the remote church of Heavenfield, DCI Ryan is the only other person for miles around. The police have no weapon, no motive and no other suspects.
Already suspended from Northumbria CID, Ryan must fight to clear his name. But soon more than his career is at stake when prominent members of the mysterious Circle begin to die.
Somebody wants Ryan's name to be next on the coroner's list, and to survive he must unmask the devil who walks among them - before it is too late. Unfortunately for Ryan, the devil looks just like everybody else....
Murder and mystery are peppered with romance and humour in this fast-paced crime whodunnit from LJ Ross, set amidst the spectacular Northumbrian landscape.
©2016 L J Ross (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By SophiaMarie on 01-25-17

Hope to see more of Ryan, Phillips and the others

Jonathan Keeble makes the characters memorable. Hope L J Ross is writing about new adventure of these characters.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By Trish R. on 09-04-16

Spoilers, maybe.. but I doubt it..

This one started with a man being killed and Ryan being accused of killing him. That was a good start, I thought. And, wow, everything just went crazy in this book: Gregson going after Ryan, trying to get him thrown off the force, and the deal with Gregson’s wife, 2 prison/hospital deaths while they were already looking into another killer’s death.

And if some of you don’t know what I’m talking about and think I’m giving up spoilers I’m not, for those of you who read the first two books. For those who didn’t you might be lost. This was really a fascinating series.

It was just fabulous getting to know Ryan and Anna, and watching them fall in love. Loved Phillips and MacKenzie, and I absolutely love Phillips’s ties, what a quirky guy he was with his ties. Really liked Jack but I wasn’t really sure about him in the beginning. And, wow, wow, wow, what a trip that Jane was. She had a god-like attitude and thought the immediate world would soon be kneeling at her feet. Every one of these “Master’s” were totally insane killers, thinking they were doing Satan’s work. Every time one Master died another would take his place, until Jane was given the position as High PriestESS, after years of there being only Priests.

This was a truly great series and I’m sorry the story of “The Circle” had to end. But, boy, what an ending.

Again there was no sex in this book, not even a hint of it, but there was love and affection and that’s all I can ask for.

The was swearing and the F-bomb was used 12 times.

As to the narration: Again the narrator did a great job with his emotions while reading and the men had wonderful voices but the women’s voices still sucked, just like they did in the first two books. However, even with the women’s voices I’d still listen to the narrator again.

With the books being free with KU and the audibles only being $1.99 you really can’t go wrong.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Hengestine on 05-04-16

Can't wait for the next instalment!

I really enjoyed both Holy Island, and Sycamore Gap (the first two books in the DCI Ryan series) by LJ Ross. I've been counting down the days for the release of the audio version of Heavenfield since it's hard copy release in February. I was not disappointed! Firstly, I enjoyed the story and felt that it added to the overall narrative of the series, being a full story in its own right (although I think listening to the first two books first will help you enjoy the book better) as well developing the plot, leaving me wanting to hear more (can't wait for Angel, the next in the series).

The content and pace of each chapter draws you in and pushes you on; I felt really annoyed when I had to pause the story as I was far away in Northumberland helping with the investigation (well I was observing!!) and wanted to know what happened next. I also love the way all the characters are drawn, and I was interested in how they developed and what happened to them, not just the main protagonists.

Thirdly, and oft forgotten, the narration is superb. Jonathan Keeble brings alive the carefully crafted plot and is true to the characterisation drawn by LJ Ross. The only problem I have is that I have to wait for the next instalment, and it's audio version.

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

By Linda on 05-17-16

A good series at a crossroads I think

This third story seems to finally tie up lots of loose ends we've had flying about from the previous books and I think that's probably a good thing - its time for a new plot, I'm getting a bit tired of this one. I very much like the characters in this series and I think the conversation is particularly well written but I am sad to say that the main romantic thread (which I thought was very well done initially) is getting a little Mills & Boon (which other reviewers thought was the case a few books back). If you have listened to books 1 and 2 this won't disappoint but come on L J Ross you now need to get this great cast of characters involved in some new cases and some new personal stories. Exceptionally well read by Jonathan Keeble.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jane Syd on 03-08-17

It just gets better and better

Third book in the series delivers brilliantly full of twists, suspense and a likeable enough detective. I'd say it's definitely not a stand alone novel and must be read as part of the whole series to understand the history behind the drama and mystery unfolding on the island. Downloading the 4th book as I type this review. Just marvellous reading

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By Jane on 07-23-17

Loved it

Narration was great. Make sure you have listened to holy Island and sycamore gap first

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc