Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Alex Delaware and Milo Sturgis investigate the death of Alex's most mysterious patient to date in the sensational new thriller from the master of suspense, New York Times best-selling author Jonathan Kellerman.
At nearly 100 years old, Thalia Mars is a far cry from the patients that child psychologist Alex Delaware normally treats. But the charming, witty woman convinces Alex to meet with her in a suite at the Aventura, a luxury hotel with a checkered history.
What Thalia wants from Alex are answers to unsettling questions - about guilt, patterns of criminal behavior, victim selection. When Alex asks the reason for her morbid fascination, Thalia promises to tell all during their next session. But when he shows up the following morning, he is met with silence: Thalia is dead in her room.
When questions arise about how Thalia perished, Alex and homicide detective Milo Sturgis must peel back the layers of a fascinating but elusive woman's life and embark on one of the most baffling investigations either of them has ever experienced. For Thalia Mars is a victim like no other, an enigma who harbored nearly a century of secrets and whose life and death draw those around her into a vortex of violence.
Heartbreak Hotel is classic Delaware and classic Kellerman.
©2017 Jonathan Kellerman (P)2017 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"I’m fortunate that John Rubinstein's incredible talents have graced the Alex Delaware novels since the series began. John’s illumination of Alex and Milo is perfectly in tune with my view of the novels. His masterful work is at its best in Heartbreak Hotel - a page-turner that is also Alex and Milo at their best." (Jonathan Kellerman)
"Narrator John Rubinstein has portrayed child psychologist Alex Delaware, LAPD homicide detective Milo Sturgis, and Alex's live-in girlfriend, Robin Castagna, for several years.... Rubinstein seems to enjoy narrating this engaging mystery populated with old-time gangsters, a femme fatale, a long-ago jewel heist, and hidden treasure. Listeners will be delighted with the story and with Rubinstein's presentation." (AudioFile)  
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By JAMES on 03-04-17

Start at the beginning

Any additional comments?

I noticed a few negative reviews and checked them out. Most are new to the author and characters. Those of us who enjoy these books do so because of the interplay of the characters and the odd assortment of people them come in contact with. And, Rubinstein presents the entire work like he was put on earth to do so. Pure delight!!

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By alicia lovato on 03-14-17


This book was REALLY slow. I wanted to like it, and kept listening hoping it would get better but it didn't. I found it really boring but made myself finish.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc