Hear No Evil

  • by James Grippando
  • Narrated by Campbell Scott
  • 5 hrs and 8 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Miami attorney Jack Swyteck is involved in the most explosive criminal trial of his career, a case that starts with a murder on a military base and concludes with a shocking surprise that will change Jack's life forever. A beautiful woman comes to see Jack and begs him to represent her. She says she's about to be arrested for the murder of her husband, an officer stationed at Guantanamo Bay. Having no expertise in military law and sensing that the woman isn't telling him the entire truth, Jack turns her down. Then she drops a bombshell: She claims she's the adoptive mother of Jack's biological son, a child he's never met. Either Jack must represent her or he'll never see the boy.
So Jack agrees, but with great foreboding. The woman is an unreliable client, a blackmailer who just might be a murderer, and he has to travel to Gitmo and on to Havana to tussle with people who clearly have a lot to hide. This is a case with as many twists and turns as it has unanswered questions, and the personal toll on Jack won't end until he's forced to confront the ultimate surprise witness in a trial that rocks the city of Miami.
In signature Grippando style, Hear No Evil is an intricate, fast-paced, and captivating thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end.


What the Critics Say

"This character-driven, intricately plotted thriller will keep readers guessing up to the end." (Publishers Weekly)
"A tight, smartly constructed mystery that will keep readers on the edge of their seats." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Based on other reviews, I thought this would have been a better listen. I found the writing to be sophmoric and the plot rather bland. I would pass on this book.
Read full review

- David

do what?

I really liked the story, but then it's like he lost his train of thought and just ended the story...was really let down and not Grippando's style.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-11-2004
  • Publisher: HarperAudio