Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

MEET JACK WIDOW in his first explosive appearance. 
#1 AMAZON best-selling novel in the vein of Jack Reacher and Mitch Rapp. 
Jack Widow is an elite NCIS Agent. He's the guy sent to hotspots all over the world, undercover among the Navy SEALs. He investigates the kinds of crimes that no one wants to speak of. Until he is pulled off assignment after someone shot his sheriff mother in the head. 
Now, in order to solve a very personal murder, Jack Widow is forced to return home to a town he hasn't seen in sixteen years. Taken-to-be a worthless drifter, Widow discovers more than his mother at her deathbed. He finds a distraught husband, a missing wife, and the small town of Black Rock, Mississippi, where the people harbor a horrifying secret that they will die to protect. 
Good thing that Jack Widow will kill to find out what. 
With a bonus of Winter Territory from the Jack Widow series. 
The JACK WIDOW Series in order:
GONE FOREVER Book #1
WINTER TERRITORY Book #2
A REASON TO KILL Book #3
WITHOUT MEASURE #4
ONCE QUIET #5
NAME NOT GIVEN #6
THE MIDNIGHT CALLER #7
FIREWATCH #8
THE LAST RAINMAKER #9 
©2016 Scott Blade (P)2018 Scott Blade
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amanda on 03-13-18

I like Widow.

I really like the character of Widow. He is smart and the typical rouge ex-military guy. It was a little slow however the picture was painted very well with all the detail. Widow’s mother is murdered and he takes to the streets and hitchhikes as a nobody to find the culprit. I enjoyed the story and look forward to the next Widow book. I received a free review copy of this book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By TU on 03-05-18

Good action adventure story

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

This was an entertaining and well narrated action adventure story. It definitely had a Jack Reacher feel to it but mixed with Walking Tall. I'd definitely be open to more from this author/narrator duo.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Norma Miles on 03-12-18

Sooner or later, the past always catches up.

Sixteen years earlier, when Jack Widow was just eighteen, he and his mother had argued and he'd left his small town home not to return until now, his mother in hospital, a bullet in her head. She was the local sheriff and someone had lured her to a deserted point in the road, shot her and left her to die in a ditch. Jack had been in the Navy, then a special ops unit of the SEALs. He was going to find out who killed her, and why.

This first book in a new loner-drifter series (think Lee Child's Reacher) is well written and, at times, almost poetic in it's atmospheric descriptions of both place and the inside of Widow's head. Told in the first person, it is an easy book to read, the sentences short and uncomplicated, like the man himself. But seeing through his eyes it is easy to empathize with him.
This is further enhanced by narrator Aden Philip Ormond's excellent interpretation of this lead protagonist. The reading is well paced, not too fast, not too emotionally imbued but just right for the military trained loner rediscovering his past and his understanding of just how much he owed to his mother in the last precious moments they are able to have together. Her death is his new beginning as sets out in search of her killer. With expression and good intonation, Orson's pleasant rough velvety voice also gives individual life to each of the other characters in the book also. Writer and narrator in harmony together.

Although this is a thriller, the main focus of the book is to establish the character of Jack Widow. Several other of the protagonists are also given a three dimensional appearance, also, but none as clears as Widow himself. The story which projects him into the world in this adventure is initially intriguing, if a liitle predictable towards the end and the fight scenes felt fully believable. Jack is good but he's not superhuman.

My thanks to the rights holder of Gone Forever, who freely gifted me a complimentary copy, at my request, via Audiobook Boom. The production was good with just an occasional word unexpectedly missing but nothing to inhibit the enjoyment, whilst the text and narrations seamlessly worked together to give an inclusive picture of a new hero to watch out for in the future. Recommended.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc