Forsaken Soul : Medieval Mystery

  • by Priscilla Royal
  • Narrated by Vanessa Benjamin
  • Series: Medieval Mystery
  • 7 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The summer of 1273 is peaceful for most of England, except in the village of Tyndal, where Martin the cooper has been poisoned at the local inn. Martin had plenty of enemies; the killer could be anyone. Prioress Eleanor grieves for her friend, the newly bereaved Crowner Ralf, and offers what help she can. But when her own problems multiply, Eleanor has good reason to regret her kindness.Her new anchoress terrifies her servants and welcomes visitors to her window at night. One of those visitors is Brother Thomas, a man the prioress secretly loves and whose loyalty to her as head of Tyndal Priory is now suspect.Bodies multiply. Suspects disappear. No one likes the direction the evidence is pointing, but God's justice must be rendered - even for the forsaken soul.


What the Critics Say

"Against an authentic backdrop of medieval life and lore, Royal once again brings alive characters who are true to their period yet exhibit emotions and feelings that 21st-century readers will recognize as their own." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I agree with some of the other reviewers. The reader is excellent. The story she is reading, while some of the details are interesting, is tough to slog through. This isn't the first book in the Prioress Eleanor series. The characters in this book behave in ways related to events in previous books that are not explained to us. Some of the plot doesn't make sense for this reason.
Read full review

- Wadie


Don't waste your money - difficult to slog through. Main characters very shallow, poorly developed, and without apparent redeeming characteristics. This was especially true for the Crowner who was portrayed as an unlikeable, clueless oaf. My dislike of this book lies not with the reader, but with the text.
Read full review

- Scott

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-10-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.