Regular price: $24.47

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Inspector John Rebus has confronted Edinburgh's most hardened criminals, its bloodiest crime scenes, and its most dangerous backstreets, but nothing could have prepared him for what he finds on Fleshmarket Alley. In the city's red-light district, men live out their sordid fantasies, and women with no other choice sell their bodies to make a buck. It's a neighborhood of lost inhibitions, forgotten scruples, and hopeless dreams. In its seediest clubs, refugees seeking asylum are subjected to the whims of the most ruthless characters in the crime Rebus knows all too well.
©2005 Ian Rankin (P)2005 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"This is a superb crime novel, a pivotal entry in a uniformly fascinating series, and a remarkably perceptive analysis of the contemporary immigration dilemma at its most achingly human level." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Andrew on 10-02-08

Great Story

I really enjoy the Rebus Novels. But, I do not enjoy listening to the narrator read these novels.
I find it distracting to listen to him mispronounce words e.g. "Niaff" , "Irn Bru", place names etc.
As I'm from Scotland these errors jump out at me. Others probably will not find this an issue at all.

Read More Hide me

8 of 15 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Maine Knitter on 06-08-17

I love Rebus

I can't say enough about this series. Rankin's writing is simply superb.

I read this book (listened to it) days after the London Bridge attack. The same issue of immigration that's described in this book is still on the front burner in 2017. Very relevant and disturbing.

There are a lot of characters in Rebus life and there are times I have to write them down to keep them straight. I credit listening to the book instead of visually seeing the characters' names as part of my problem. In any case, these characters enrich this long story and make life interesting for John, Siobhan, and the other CID officers they work with. Illegal immigration, slavery, bigotry, and former cases all come into play.

John and DS Clark have to make their home in a new police station and it's not comfortable. They pursue separate cases that just may overlap.

I had to drop a star from my rating because I found the depiction of telephone voices on the audiobook to be distracting.

I'm sorry I discovered this series so late but I'm thankful I don't have to wait to read the next book. Long live Ian Rankin.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc