Flashman and the Mountain of Light : The Flashman Papers

  • by George MacDonald Fraser
  • Narrated by David Case
  • Series: The Flashman Papers
  • 13 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This ninth volume of The Flashman Papers, faithfully edited and transcribed by Fraser, finds that Sir Harry Flashman is back in India, where his saga began.
This time, our hero is sent by Her Majesty's Secret Service to spy on the corrupt court of Lahore, on India's Northwest Frontier. Flashy's most challenging exploit yet is as politically shrewd and thoroughly lewd as ever.


What the Critics Say

"Vain, lecherous Victorian soldier of fortune Harry Flashman goes to the Punjab for his ninth reprehensible yet shamelessly enjoyable adventure." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Flashy is Magnificent, Narration is Superb!

Flashman is a scoundrel, a rogue, a coward, and a philanderer, and I thoroughly adore him! David Case's rendition of this classic heroic villain is simply inspired. The way he renders Flashman's alarmed and yet hilariously sardonic observations in this deadpan voice is just perfect. I found myself laughing out loud at the combination of Fraser's wordcraft and Case's performance in many places.

You'll likely find this story more enjoyable if you are fond of anti-heroes, if you like dry British humor, and you have a yen for adventures. Flashman travels around the globe having wildly improbably adventures (this time in India), having sex with all the women he's physically able to, and being given credit he absolutely does not deserve for heroic feats he did his best to avoid performing.

I love, love, love this book, and all the others in the Flashman series.
Read full review

- L. Mansfield

A great romp through British India

Flashy is back in the saddle providing a delicious backstory to an enjoyable history lesson. David Case does a marvelous job with the male characters (his women need a bit of work). Great fun.
Read full review

- Chuck

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-13-2010
  • Publisher: Random House Audio