Regular price: $9.05

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $9.05

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the number one best-selling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three Gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.
Broken Voices: Does music have its ghosts? Its victims? Something is stirring in the cathedral that both echoes an ancient tragedy and seems to offer a chance of future happiness. One thing is certain. Broken voices make false promises. And their lies may prove fatal.
The Leper House: Seawick's medieval Leper House is all that remains of the Suffolk town that was washed away to sea. A bereaved man arrives there on a stormy night and meets the mysterious woman who dwells there. In a nearby house, another woman waits for history to repeat itself. And a bell tolls once again beneath the waves.
The Scratch: Clare and Gerald live the perfect life in a remote cottage in the Forest of Dean. Cannop the cat has lived with them since they found him as a kitten deep in the Forest. But perfection is fragile, and some scratches never heal.
©2016 Andrew Taylor (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

Praise for The Ashes of London:
"The Ashes of London presents a breathtakingly ambitious picture of an era.... The multiple narrative strands are drawn together in a brilliantly orchestrated finale." (Financial Times)
"A complex weave of history and mystery and the first of a new series from Andrew Taylor." (The i)
"This is terrific stuff: intelligent, engrossing and, in its evocation of a long-vanished London, wonderfully plausible." (Toby Clements, Daily Telegraph)
"A pacey story.... Taylor masters the detail as well as the broader picture.... A new Shardlake may be rising from the ashes." (The Times)
"Thrilling.... Gripping, fast-moving and credible.... It's a well-constructed political thriller with moments of horror, admirable and enjoyable. Taylor has done his research so thoroughly as to be unobtrusive." (Spectator)
"The description of London in 1666, as the Great Fire is at last dying down, is unforgettable." (Literary Review)
"Finely wrought and solidly researched.... The novel's plot is fiendishly complex." (Sunday Telegraph)
"The Ashes of London is a chilling murder mystery and an equally transporting historical novel. A genuine pleasure from start to finish." (Peter Swanson, author of A Kind Worth Killing)
"This is a book to revel in, a joy and a delight. Definitely one of the must-reads of the year." (Manda Scott, best-selling author of the Boudica Dreaming series)
Praise for Andrew Taylor:
"Taylor's mastery of plot and character show to great effect in a story that has a depth few other historical crime novels can match." (Sunday Times)
Praise for The American Boy:
"A most artful and delightful book, that will both amuse and chill, and it will have you desperate to search out a quiet corner to continue your acquaintance with it." (Daily Telegraph)
Praise for The Silent Boy:
"Effortlessly authentic...gripping...moving and believable. An excellent work." (C. J. Sansom)
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kaggy on 12-19-17

A very fine trio of spooky delights

To me a well written ghost story is a thing of absolute delight and here we have not one but three consistently chilling tales all read by some of the best narrators on Audible. If you are not sure if a gothic tale can work in a modern day setting, I point you to the last two stories and I'm certain you will be convinced. This is a genre that works most effectively when the author lets your imagination do the work and here Andrew Taylor has given us three intriguing and mysterious stories that you will want to read again and again.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 11-14-17

Beautifully written and read

The author has a beautiful realism about his writing, inspiring the imagination. The stories are exactly what short stories should be: moments in life. I’m generally not a fan of short stories, but this collection has turned me, at least to be more opened minded toward them.
Truly fantastic. A different reader for each story helped to bring the characters alive as well. Each of them did a brilliant job.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc