Fell Purpose : Bill Slider

  • by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  • Narrated by Terry Wale
  • Series: Bill Slider
  • 10 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bank Holiday Monday, and beautiful Zellah Wilding, straight-A student at St Margaret's, prefect and future Head Girl, lies dead near the famous Wormwood Scrubs prison in London. What was this good girl from a strict Christian family doing out there, dressed to kill, when she was supposed to be at a sleepover with school friends?
A secret boyfriend from a run-down estate and a recently released rapist look tasty; or could the nearby fairground or the eponymous prison have something to do with it?
The mysteries only seem to proliferate as the investigation progresses, and the more Bill Slider knows, the less he understands about this very secret girl.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good book, problematic narration

This is more a review of the narration rather than the book - I know the book will be good, I'm a big Slider fan, however I could not listen to the narration. I really tried. I gave it 30 minutes and then gave up - it felt too much like work, and I usually LOVE British narrators. To me the voice just did not fit the story, I kept having to hit replay because I couldn't understand the words, and the narrator sounded as if he had breathing problems - I'm sorry, I would much rather have loved it!
Read full review

- Betty

May be a good book but I'll probably never know!

Like the initial reviewer, this is more a review of the reader. This may be a brilliant book but the reader is horrible. I gave the book an hour and a half before I could no longer stand it. The problem? He's so old fashioned and narrates the book as if it is Jane Austin. This is a modern day crime novel and I felt as if I was in the Victorian age. Oh well, lesson learned, I shall be avoiding this reader from now on and I suggest others do the same. Unless it is a classic novel, he'd be ok with those.
Read full review

- Joel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-19-2010
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books