Eye of the Red Tsar : Inspector Pekkala

  • by Sam Eastland
  • Narrated by Paul Michael
  • Series: Inspector Pekkala
  • 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him.
Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.
A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.
But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.
In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.
With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves.


What the Critics Say

“A triumph! With a canny eye for detail, Eastland re-creates the tragedy of the Romanov dynasty in this intelligent and relentless thriller.” (David Hewson)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wow What a Book

This excellent story is absolutely a novel of suspense as the title states. A complex blend of history (based on historic events), intrigue, and mysterious thriller wrapped up into one page turner of a book. Set around the time of the Russian Revolution and its violent aftermath --the story is peopled with a cast of memorable characters that grab the listener and captivate. The narration by Paul Michael was perfect. Parts of the book were a bit grisly --but not so much that I had to stop listening. I really look forward to the next book in the series. I have to admit that when I came to "The End" I had to give the recording a round of applause. It was that good!
Read full review

- Sara "Avid Reader"

Great character

I really enjoyed the listen. The writer is solid in his use of language, image and dialogue, but the reveal in the third act strains credulity past the breaking point and there is a more plausible, explanation for Anton's actions than was used. Plotting is strictly third year screenwriting level, but the world of the book makes up for these shortcomings and the protagonist is memorable.
Read full review

- Margaret

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-27-2010
  • Publisher: Random House Audio