Regular price: $24.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the stunning follow-up to the New York Times best-seller The Second Life of Nick Mason, the remarkable hero fights to take back control from the crime lord who owns his life as he races to complete a daring and dangerous new mission.
Nick Mason has been given a true mission impossible: infiltrate WITSEC, the top-secret federal witness-protection program that has never been compromised, locate the three men who put his boss, Darius Cole, behind bars for life, and kill them.
But first he has to find them - they're ghost prisoners locked down around the clock in classified "deep black" locations by a battalion of heavily armed US marshals charged with protecting them - and the clock is ticking. Cole is appealing his conviction, and these witnesses are either his ticket to freedom or the final nail in his coffin. If they testify, Darius Cole will never step foot in the outside world again. If they are killed, he will walk out a free man.
As he risks everything to complete his mission, Mason finds himself being hunted by the very man he replaced, the ruthless assassin who once served, then betrayed, Darius Cole. Rather than waiting to be Mason's next victim, he has escaped witness protection to hunt down and kill Mason himself.
In an action-packed journey that leads from a high-security military installation in the Appalachian Mountains to a secret underground bunker hidden far below the streets of New York City, Nick Mason will have to become, more than ever before, the lethal weapon that Darius Cole created.
©2017 Steve Hamilton (P)2017 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By antonio on 02-17-18

Too much is too much....

I loved the first book of the Nick Mason series , although i found it a bit stretched in terms of credibility. The sequel is seriously disappointing. It is hurried, cliched, with barely sketched characters, a laughably high body count and zero credibility..

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Bob on 07-19-17

Great listen that stretches credulity

The first Nick Mason book was a blast, a wonderful premise, powerful, action-packed story, well-written and well-narrated. What a bold departure from Hamilton's first series character.
But I did wonder how you could push this great idea past one book and keep the reader/listener buying in to the premise and maintaining our connection to the main character. Right from the outset of the first book, Nick is teetering on the edge of an impossible dilemma. We root for him to succeed and break out of the bind he is in. I enjoyed Exit Strategy, it kept me riveted even while the odds mounted. But with each plot twist and bigger obstacle thrown in his path, it grew harder to suspend my disbelief. On one hand, it is the way, as in too many action stories and films, the protagonist bounces back from vicious beatings, shootings and explosions to continue vanquishing foes like an immortal ninja. On the other, it is how the web of evil stretches further and farther from the 'simple' drug gang mastermind to something more pervasive and more mysterious. And harder to buy. The thought rose that Hamilton, a good writer, was taking the 'easy' way out by turning to the fantastic instead of more subtle, artful plot developments. I still like the series and will surely listen to book three - I hope Quintero returns simply so I can enjoy Ray Porter voicing his character - but the fresh edge is gone.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews