End Games : Aurelio Zen

  • by Michael Dibdin
  • Narrated by Michael Tudor Barnes
  • Series: Aurelio Zen
  • 11 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Italian police detective Aurelio Zen is posted to remote Calabria, at the toe of the Italian boot, on a routine assignment. But what he encounters there is anything but routine. Beneath the surface of a tight-knit community, violent forces are at work.Zen is determined to find a way to penetrate the code of silence and uncover the truth behind a brutal murder. His mission is complicated by another secret that has drawn strangers from the other side of the world - a hunt for buried treasure, launched by a single-minded player with millions to spend pursuing his bizarre and deadly obsession.


What the Critics Say

"End Games offers ample testimony that Dibdin was at the height of his powers when he died." (Independent)
"Crackling with sardonic intelligence and alive with trenchant gusto, it's also a terrific finale to a career." (Sunday Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good writer, good mystery, good narrator.

I wonder if the other reviewers listened to a different audiobook. This one is read by Michael T Barnes, who is British, not American, and who sounds perfectly straight in his interpretation. No added curlicues, at least not one a listener can detect. (Good narrators have lots of subtle tricks). But nothing that stands out like a sore thumb to me. Dibdin is fierce, as usual, and his Italian plots, scenes and characters are the same. The narrator doesn't get in the way, but tells it like it is. Dibdin wrote British English, so the accent is perfect.

My advice: Listen to the preview!
Read full review

- Bernard J. Baars

Not up to snuff.

I think Aurelio Zen is going the way of the multiple sequel. Stories are becoming less creative and this reader is really "half baked". What happened to Michael Kitchen? Did He refuse to participate with this one?
Read full review

- Thomas

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-20-2008
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books