Regular price: $19.60

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.60

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Davis Way thinks she's hit the jackpot when she lands a job as the fifth wheel on an elite security team at the fabulous Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. But once there, she runs straight into her ex-ex husband, a rigged slot machine, her evil twin, and a trail of dead bodies.
Davis learns the truth, and it does not set her free - in fact, it lands her in the pokey. Buried under a mistaken identity, unable to seek help from her family, her hot streak runs cold until her landlord, Bradley Cole, steps in. Make that her landlord, lawyer, and love interest. With his help, Davis must win this high-stakes game before her luck runs out.
This book is part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all! Double Whammy is the first book in the Davis Way humorous mystery series.
©2012 Gretchen Archer (P)2013 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Funny & wonderful & human. It gets the Stephanie Plum seal of approval." (Janet Evanovich)
"Archer navigates a satisfyingly complex plot and injects plenty of humor as she goes. This madcap debut is a winning hand for fans of Janet Evanovich and Deborah Coonts." ( Library Journal)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Pete the Dog on 08-07-13

Entertaining story. Awesome narrator.

Would you listen to Double Whammy again? Why?

Yes. Because some of the character's thoughts are so funny. I would enjoy listening again.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Davis Way. Because of her name, where she is from, her personality and sarcasm.

Which character – as performed by Dina Pearlman – was your favorite?

Davis Way, definitely.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Just entertaining overall. The author and narrator did a great job making me feel the characters and understand their thoughts/actions.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait for the next book in the series! Please keep Dina Pearlman as the narrator -- she IS Davis Way.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Sheryl on 06-04-13

Hilarious fun! Can't wait for more

I totally enjoyed this book! It was so funny. Davis Way is a little bit pathetic (but in a funny way), quite ingenious and completely hilarious. I am so glad that I stumbled upon this book here on audible and decided to give it a try. I bought the kindle book (well worth the $2.99) and the discounted audible book (also well worth the money or the credit). Dina Perlman does a great job narrating but the book reads well in print, too (I mostly listened to it but did read some of it). I will definitely be watching out for the next book in this series. I hope they do an audible version of that one, as well.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Inishowen Cailin on 05-27-17

No

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

I was disappointed in this book as I had seen it had a lot of 5 star reviews and my expectations for it were high.
The story very difficult to get into. It didn't grab my attention in the opening chapters and from there on it was a chore to keep going with it. An easy book to put down; I even considered dropping it completely but I persevered with it. However, I won't be picking up any of the other titles in the series.
The story line was very disjointed and the romance was all very weird, stalker-ish and rushed as the two characters only meet each other officially towards the end of the book.
What annoyed me most was the silly comedy. The humour in the story was centred round Davis saying and doing really mind numbing, stupid things. But rather than finding her endearing and funny I found her extremely irritating.

I like sharp witted, intelligent humour and this book did not provide any at all.

Any additional comments?

The narrator did a good job.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc