Double Whammy : Davis Way Crime Caper

  • by Gretchen Archer
  • Narrated by Dina Pearlman
  • Series: Davis Way Crime Caper
  • 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Davis Way thinks she's hit the jackpot when she lands a job as the fifth wheel on an elite security team at the fabulous Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. But once there, she runs straight into her ex-ex husband, a rigged slot machine, her evil twin, and a trail of dead bodies.
Davis learns the truth, and it does not set her free - in fact, it lands her in the pokey. Buried under a mistaken identity, unable to seek help from her family, her hot streak runs cold until her landlord, Bradley Cole, steps in. Make that her landlord, lawyer, and love interest. With his help, Davis must win this high-stakes game before her luck runs out.
This book is part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all! Double Whammy is the first book in the Davis Way humorous mystery series.

More

What the Critics Say

"Funny & wonderful & human. It gets the Stephanie Plum seal of approval." (Janet Evanovich)
"Archer navigates a satisfyingly complex plot and injects plenty of humor as she goes. This madcap debut is a winning hand for fans of Janet Evanovich and Deborah Coonts." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another excellent reading by Dina Pearlman

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would be comfortable recommending this to any fan of cozy mysteries. While there is some romantic tension and violence, it does not proceed beyond a level acceptible for most cozy mystery lovers. I also continue to enjoy the reading/performance of Dina Pearlman. I have listened to many of her other audiobooks and find that she is consistently excellent.


What was one of the most memorable moments of Double Whammy?

Davis's encounters with Maxine and Mary at the Double Whammy machines. i also enjoyed Teeth and No Hair in all their intimidating glory.


Which character – as performed by Dina Pearlman – was your favorite?

Morgan George Sr.was my favorite character beyond Davis.


Any additional comments?

Hoping that Double Dip will also make its way to audio.

Read full review

- Takeyabue

Entertaining story. Awesome narrator.

Would you listen to Double Whammy again? Why?

Yes. Because some of the character's thoughts are so funny. I would enjoy listening again.


Who was your favorite character and why?

Davis Way. Because of her name, where she is from, her personality and sarcasm.


Which character – as performed by Dina Pearlman – was your favorite?

Davis Way, definitely.


Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Just entertaining overall. The author and narrator did a great job making me feel the characters and understand their thoughts/actions.


Any additional comments?

Can't wait for the next book in the series! Please keep Dina Pearlman as the narrator -- she IS Davis Way.

Read full review

- Pete the Dog

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-14-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios