Regular price: $14.86

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.86

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When a child goes missing at the local tennis club on the same day that several skeletons are unearthed on a building site, Fran Harman’s caseload is heavier than ever. Enjoying a game of tennis when the girl disappeared, Fran's partner Mark blames himself for not keeping an eye on her.
Sucked into the kind of desperate police search he thought he'd left behind on retirement, Mark enlists the help of his fellow Golden Oldies to find young Livvie before it's too late. Meanwhile, a further shocking discovery suggests that a serial killer may be lurking.
©2013 Judith Cutler (P)2014 Isis Publishing Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Sires on 02-11-14

Well Narrated Police Procedural Fran Harman Series

This is the 5th book in the Fran Harmon Series. Read by Diana Bishop, this story of kidnapping of a young child at a local tennis club drawing in the retired ACC Mark Turner and his soon to be wife, Chief Superintendent Fran Harmon, who is still on the job. Police budgets are being cut while more is being demanded of them. Fran at this time is heading the Major Crime Review Section, then when a colleague has an emergency illness she is put in charge of the kidnapping investigation as well.

With trouble on the force, two major investigations and her wedding fast approaching this is an entertaining entry in the series by Cutler I find the most consistently interesting.

Diana Bishop's voice is perfect age wise for this series, whose main characters are aging and forced to accept the limitations and diminution of faculties brought about by age.

While Audible is missing one book, 2005's Life Sentence, the first in the series, I think that reading the books in order is called for to enjoy the complete story arc.

From the wrap up I'm a bit afraid that this might be the final book in the series. But there's still some threads that could be picked up for a future book.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Helen on 01-31-15

Not as good as I'd hoped

Any additional comments?

I didn't feel quite as gripped by this story as some others in the series.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc