Don't Mean Nuthin'

  • by Ron Lealos
  • Narrated by Jay Seals
  • 9 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Don't Mean Nuthin' tells the story of Frank Morgan, a young college grad raised on army discipline who begins his career as a Phoenix Program assassin in Vietnam believing in his country. The audiobook starts with Morgan on the Freedom Bird to 'Nam in 1969, sitting next to a grizzled grunt. It's Morgan's first hint of what may be in store. With less than a month to go on his tour, Morgan leads a squad of South Vietnamese special forces in a bloody massacre and then mistakenly kills a beautiful innocent woman, Liem, in an old French plantation outside Can Tho.
The attempted murder of Morgan by his CIA chief, a swashbuckling midget cowboy named Comer, who wears silver spurs on his boots, begins Morgan's metamorphosis into an avenging assassin not for hire by the US war machine. Morgan teams with a Montagnard scout, Luong, and they visit an old comrade who has adopted a young Vietnamese boy. During their stay the village is attacked, leaving Morgan and Luong as the only guardians. While moving through the bush with the child and Luong or at night, watching the Southern Cross, one of Morgan's pastimes is to write letters he never mails to his parents and draft fictional articles for Stars and Stripes.
Don't Mean Nuthin' is filled with stories in the style of Tim O'Brien and Michael Herr. The book captures the setting of a country melting in napalm ooze and anecdotes grunts used to survive the insanity - all don't mean nuthin'.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Does mean a lot

Very descriptive full of emotion, very easy to close your eyes and imagine. Enjoyable and looking forward to his next book.
Read full review

- david

The Unknown

This was a very interesting read... one I truly enjoyed. It gives insight on the unknown aspects of the war - like behind the scene - of other units that participated. This book will peak your interest wondering "what is he going to do now?"
Read full review

- Tim

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-24-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios