Dixie City Jam : Dave Robicheaux

  • by James Lee Burke
  • Narrated by Mark Hammer
  • Series: Dave Robicheaux
  • 14 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

They're out there, under the salt - the bodies of German seamen who used to lie in wait at the mouth of the Mississippi for unescorted American tankers sailing from the oil refineries of Baton Rouge out into the Gulf of Mexico. As a child, Dave Robicheaux had been haunted by the sailors' images. Years later, Robicheaux, a detective with the New Iberia sheriff's office, finds himself and his family at serious risk, stalked for his knowledge of a watery burial ground by a mysterious man named Will Buchalter - a man who believes that the Holocaust was one big hoax.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Jury out on this one

I love the way James Lee Burke writes, and I love the characters in his stories, Cletus Purcell has to be one of the great literary personalities of all time. The setting it enthralling as ever, but the foe in this story is just a little to much of a ghost and Dave R. is just walking into too many traps set for him in this one without seeing the writing on the wall. All of that said, I still liked the book, enjoyed Cletus having a prominent role and enjoyed the various characters and how they were developed. I really love the narration in this series and really do not understand the controversy, it is first rate as far as I am concerned. All things considered I am looking forward to the next in the series as even a flat spot in this collection is better than the best works by most authors.
Read full review

- Dennis

Audio, audio...it's the voice

Where is Will Patton when there is a Dave Roubiceaux book, I listened all the way to the end, but for me it was not an enjoyable experience. I though the story was a little disjointed, and with a different voice than how I perceive the main character should sound...No, in the future it will be Burke and Patton or no purchase
Read full review

- Allen Anthony "No comment"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-26-2012
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio