Dirty White Boys

  • by Stephen Hunter
  • Narrated by Will Patton
  • 3 hrs and 0 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This intense, suspenseful, action-packed crime drama follows the tradition of In Cold Blood.
Three inmates break out of a maximum-security prison and go on a killing spree that soaks Oklahoma in blood. Bud Pewtie, a tough, cool-headed veteran detective, sets off on their trail. But when the three killers threaten the lives of his teenage son and the woman he loves, Bud's determination to trap them becomes personal.
Narrated by Will Patton (Silkwood, The Client), this thriller reaches a climax that's guaranteed to leave you breathless.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

not a chick story

I bought this book because Will Patton is the reader.
I was really happy to hear that in spite of the subject matter it was a well written book that I listen to and enjoyed. I can tell you that if I were criminally inclined I would change my mind after the prision description.
Read full review

- Vivian

Hunter at His Best

Next to "Point of Impact," this is Hunter's best work. The opening paragraph of the book grabbed my attention like no other novel I've read. Will Patton's reading is superb. Although Beau Bridges has done an excellent job with Hunter's Bob Lee Swagger novels, it's a tossup whether I prefer Patton or Jay O. Sanders, who reads Hunter's Earl Swagger novels. For the uninitiated, all of Hunter's books available on Audible (except "Day Before Midnight" and "American Gunfight") involve either Earl Swagger (father) or Bob Lee Swagger (son). Read in chronological order of the events described, they run in the following sequence: (1) "Hot Springs", (2) "Pale Horse Coming," (3) "Point of Impact", (4) "Dirty White Boys", (5) "Black Light", and (6) "Time to Hunt". "Point of Impact", "Dirty White Boys" and "Black Light" form a trilogy not apparent until the end of "Black Light," and then "Time to Hunt" ties everything together.
Read full review

- Cletus van Damme

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-16-1999
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio