Regular price: $22.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Barbara Holloway has a reputation for taking on the toughest cases - and winning them. But this time she's up against an unbeatable opponent - her father, the lawyer who taught her all she knows.Gus Marchand, a hardworking, God-fearing farmer, is found dead on his kitchen floor, and suspicion soon falls on Alex Feldman, Marchand's hideously deformed neighbor. At the request of another attorney, Barbara agrees to defend the young man, whom most of the town has already condemned.But there is another suspect, as well: Hilde Franz, a woman Gus had a very public altercation with just before he was murdered. Hilde also happens to be an old friend of Barbara's father, Frank, who, unaware of his daughter's involvement in the case, agrees to represent Hilde. For the first time in her career, Barbara cannot turn to her father for advice. Quite the contrary: she has to stay one step ahead of him if she's to have any hope of saving her client. Because she knows only too well what kind of legal mind she's up against.
It's legal: download more of Barbara Holloway's cases.
© 2001 Kate Wilhelm; (P) 2002 Blackstone Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

", plausible, and entertaining." (Kirkus Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Sharon on 09-29-03

Better than the first

I really enjoyed No Defense. The Oregon desert, the multi-dimensional characters, and a non-linear plot all lent complexity. I could not stop listening.

This one was better. I only listen in the car - I found myself making excuses for going to the store, etc. in order to listen. The story was compelling and Barbara Holloway is my hero.

All of the characters in this book were interesting. There were no throw aways. The story was paced perfectly and the extras about Eugene, OR, and the town of Opal Creek were fascinating.

Read More Hide me

43 of 43 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Gail Issen on 02-17-04

A great read!

I really enjoyed listening to this story. It's the second time I've listened to it and it's just as good the second time around!

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc