Death of a Gentle Lady : Hamish Macbeth Mysteries

  • by M. C. Beaton
  • Narrated by Graeme Malcolm
  • Series: Hamish Macbeth Mysteries
  • 5 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Gentle by name, gentle by nature. Everyone in the sleepy Scottish town of Lochdubh adores elderly Mrs. Gentle - everyone but Hamish Macbeth, that is. Hamish thinks the gentle lady is quite sly and vicious, and the citizens of Lochdubh think he is overly cranky. Perhaps it's time for him to get married, they say. But who has time for marriage when there's a murder to be solved? When Mrs. Gentle dies under mysterious circumstances, the town is shocked and outraged. Chief Detective Inspector Blair suspects members of her family, but Hamish Macbeth thinks there's more to the story, and begins investigating the truth behind this lady's gentle exterior.


What the Critics Say

"Malcolm's polished delivery meshes perfectly with the dialogue, small-town setting, and the atmosphere." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This is just a great story

Hamish is a great character. Nothing like the normal hero, he's just a guy doing the best he can despite all the problems tossed at him by the people around him. I can believe that these are real people, and have real emotions. And it's very funny. I highly recommend it.
Read full review


Death of a Gentle Lady

Hammish McBeth is a most appealing protaginist and the village of Lochdue and its' characters are equally fetching.
Read full review

- Edith Tuckerman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-21-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.