Death Benefit : Pia Grazdani

  • by Robin Cook
  • Narrated by George Guidall
  • Series: Pia Grazdani
  • 12 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling author and master of the medical thriller returns with another crackling tale of unchecked greed and medical malfeasance.
Behind the prim gates of the Greenwich, Connecticut, McMansions, Wall Street whizzes turn their attentions from mortgages to another possible profit source: the $25 trillion life-insurance industry. By securitizing the policies of the old and sick, they hope to make another financial killing.
At the same time, Natalie Savondnik and Ronald Goodall - two exceptional yet aloof medical residents - are working closely with their medical center's premier scientist on cutting-edge diabetes research. When their mentor dies suddenly, they launch a quiet investigation. As they dig deeper, it becomes clear that the scientist's death was not from natural causes. Is it possible someone is manipulating private life insurance information to allow investors to benefit from the deaths of others?


What the Critics Say

"[A] fascinating tale that never slows down." (Library Journal)
"Cook provides an interesting study of the strange bedfellows the biotech business and the mob might make." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great author, reader, book; POOR ENGINEERING

Any additional comments?

Engineering disaster. Many chapters ended abruptly and ran into the beginning of the next chapter - very annoying.

Read full review

- Steven

Abrupt ending

What about George Guidall’s performance did you like?

Mr. Guidall always differentiates his characters so well that you know who is speaking without the tags. His delivery is relaxed, unaffected, and very intelligible. He is my favorite narrator.

Any additional comments?

The story is very engaging until it ends, very abruptly. It is so bad that it spoils the book.

Read full review

- P Carnell "holiday"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2012
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio