Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?
She drew the curtains and returned to the kitchen where she removed the bottle of vodka from the freezer and reached for the large kitchen knife. If he dared to come back, she'd be ready for him.
When a body is found hanging in the remains of a dock-side warehouse, detective Kate Matthews is called to the scene. Recently transferred following the death of a colleague, Kate is yet to see a successful prosecution over the line. But this won't be an easy win....
Someone is watching her: leaving her clues in her home, taunting her to throw the case and threatening the life of her little girl.
As more bodies begin to surface and Kate's stalker closes in, her instincts tell her that there is a link hidden among the victims' missing pieces. This is a killer with a message and Kate must race against the clock to solve his twisted riddle.
But at the end of this impossible puzzle lies an impossible choice....
A dark and compulsive cat-and-mouse thriller that will keep you guessing to the very end. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Sarah Hilary, and Patricia Gibney.
©2017 Stephen Edger (P)2017 Bookouture
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By L_McC on 09-16-17

Not terrible but not great either

I found the main character annoying. Her decisions were stupid and selfish. I find it hard to believe a mum would run out of the house after receiving a threat on your child and 'forget' to check on her until ages later! Obviously written by a man as women wouldn't react like this.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Andromeda's Twin on 12-04-17

Not my favourite listen

Usually I enjoy books that stretch my imagination, books that most people declare too far fetched to fully enjoy but this one is a step too far.
.
Kate acquires a stalker not far into the book who threatens her daughter so the first thing Kate does is LEAVE THE FLAT leaving the threatened child sleeping alone. The stalker later breaks into her flat, not once but several times, still Kate refuses to report this or seek protection for her daughter.

Once we hit the final run, we find out who the real killer is, now I don't want to post spoilers but the killer is the most improbable candidate considering all the physical activity that has surrounded his crimes! I wasn't surprised though, I was beyond surprise by this point, I felt only relief that it was all going to be over soon. Although the Saw theme music kept bouncing around in my head whilst the bad guy made his dreadful speech. The literal end was even more stupid, he wanted a last cigarette but did not have time as the police would certainly soon be arriving, but he was very definitely in a position to have that last smoke given what his next move was going to be.

I do not like Emma Newman's narration either, she speaks too slowly but this may suit some people.

Overall, Kate is the most irritating person and a dreadful Detective, all of the characters in this book, with the exception of Chloe and the childminder, are obnoxious people, maybe it's a Southampton thing, or maybe it has something to do with them all being petty minded, unprofessional idiots. Now, we all have different opinions of the British police force but I'm sure they can't possibly be that blundering or petty in reality (even in Southampton).

I did not like this book BUT others seem to like it well enough so go ahead, try it for yourself and see what you think.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc