Dead Water : Shetland Island

  • by Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by Kenny Blyth
  • Series: Shetland Island
  • 10 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ann Cleeves returns to her critically acclaimed Shetland Island series with this stunning mystery featuring Inspector Jimmy Perez, who listeners will remember from Raven Black, White Nights, Red Bones, and Blue Lightning. When the body of a journalist is found, Detective Inspector Willow Reeves is drafted from outside to head up the investigation. Inspector Jimmy Perez has been out of the loop, but his local knowledge is needed in this case, and he decides to help Willow. The dead journalist had left the islands years before to pursue his writing career. In his wake, he left a scandal involving a young girl. When Willow and Jimmy dig deeper, they realize that the journalist was chasing a story that many Shetlanders didn't want to come to the surface. In Dead Water, a triumphant continuation to her Shetland series, Ann Cleeves cements her place as one of Britain's most successful crime writers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent crime novel, very well narrated!

Anne Cleeves writes fascinating mysteries that take place in the Shetland Islands. She is also the author of the Vera Stanhope series. In this book, Jimmy Perez has been away due to a personal tragedy, and when this murder occurs, he is drawn back into the police work little by little, even as he continues to take care of his foster daughter. In this case, a local man who had moved away, returns, only to be killed. There are a couple of intriguing pathways to follow for clues--one, his past romances and the other, concerns about a local water project that some people are not happy about.

Cleeves' books are deep and intense. This plot is well laid out and has enough continuing interest to keep the reader/listener's attention from beginning to end. It is good as a stand alone mystery--however, be aware that it is part of a series (in fact, the 5th one)--but so far as I can see, it is the only one being offered by her on Audible (at least so far). I chose to listen to it (normally would not be likely to pick up a book in mid-series)--because I have read all the others.

This is a really good mystery book with lots of interesting information about the Shetlands. It is well worth listening to, but it does give away a bit of information that would be a spoiler for the 4th book in the series. I highly recommend it--with only that consideration. It is well worth listening to--the narration is quite good. Kenny Blyth had a strong Scot's accent--but not in a way that made it hard for (this American) to understand, as can be the case sometimes.
Read full review

- Kathi "Love books! Classics and lighter fiction, mysteries (not too violent please :-). And selective non-fiction--whatever takes my fancy."

What A Disappointment After Enjoying ...

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the first of book of this series, "Raven Black". Perhaps because I enjoyed the first book so much, I expected too much of this novel but I don't think so. The narrator, Kenny Blyth, presented such a thick brogue that I found myself wishing he would enunciate more clearly. I could not understand many of the words that he spoke. I found the mystery itself to be rather slow moving with the most interesting part of the story being the dynamics between the female detective and her male counterpart in contrast to the solving of the mystery. In summary, if you have listened to the first novel of the series and you enjoyed it, don't expect to have the same experience with this one. Also, it is important to note that this is a five book series with only Book 1 and Book 5 available. Perhaps that is also why this mystery was so unsatisfying.
Read full review

- Marjorie "Life's good when I am listening to a great book."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-18-2014
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio