Dead Sand: A Lewis Cole Mystery

  • by Brendan Dubois
  • Narrated by Al Peterson
  • 9 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From award-winning and best-selling mystery author Brendan DuBois comes the acclaimed first novel in his detective series, Dead Sand. Featuring magazine columnist and former Department of Defense research analyst Lewis Cole, the novel begins with the discovery of a murdered teenage waitress in the resort town of Tyler Beach, New Hampshire. The investigation into the girl's death leads to old secrets being uncovered, secrets that some are willing to kill to keep them from being uncovered.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Dead Sand Doesn't Disappoint

Finally I can listen to my favourite author Brendan DuBois while working. Dead Sands is the gripping beginning to the wonderful Lewis Cole series. Albert Peterson does an excellent job narrating. Keep up the great work.
Read full review

- Robert Smith

DuBois and Lewis Cole hit the ground running

There are some series characters who capture your imagination from book one: Harry Bosch, Jack Reacher, and Smokey Dalton to name a few. Others take a while to develop. Their first few books are so-so, and it isn't until the series is well underway that the author really hits his stride. I won't slight those writers by naming them, but if you read lots of series, you know what I mean and can fill in your own personal blanks.

Lewis Cole hits the ground running with book one. You won't need to wait for book two or five or eight to get hooked. Dead Sand does the trick.

DuBois captures the ambiance of seacoast, small-town New Hampshire perfectly and has created a wonderfully unique character in Lewis Cole. His past history unfolds piece by piece while the current day events progressively ratchet up the suspense.

The narration by Al Peterson is very good.

With any luck, we'll get the entire Lewis Cole series in audiobook soon. With even better luck, we'll get all of DuBois's novels.
Read full review

- Dave

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-11-2015
  • Publisher: Brendan DuBois