Dead Reckoning

  • by Caitlin Rother
  • Narrated by Julie McKay
  • 13 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Happy and retired, Tom and Jackie Hawks lived a charmed life in sunny Southern California. They were delighted when former child star Skylar Deleon and his pregnant wife, Jennifer, offered cash to purchase their 55-foot yacht, the Well Deserved.
But a trial voyage turned into a nightmare. Out at sea, the Hawkses begged for their lives as they were forced to sign everything over to Skylar. In return, they were tied to the ship's anchor and thrown overboard - alive.
Skylar and Jennifer's twisted story became even more shocking when Skylar's unusual sexual motivations were revealed in court. After killing a man while out of jail on work furlough, he reportedly tried to hire hits from prison on four witnesses, including his father. For this former child actor, the answer to "Where are they now?" is death row.


What the Critics Say

"Well researched and a quick, engrossing read, this should be popular with true crime readers, especially the Ann Rule crowd." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good but does drag

Any additional comments?

It is a good listen, but because it repeats the case for multiple defendants it is, as others have said a little repetitive. The narrator is very good. Well worth a listen

Read full review

- A Mac

True Crime At It's Finest

Caitlin Rother does it again! It's definitely an easy listen, the narrator makes you feel like your listening to one of those true crime shows but the story is just amazing in itself & beautifully written. Ms. Rother makes you feel as if you are the lead detective trying to piece together what happen to the missing couple and brings you right into the victims family making you feel as if you are apart of this story. She leaves no question unanswered and brings you a story that will stick with you for years. If you are a true fan of true crime I highly recommend this book.
Read full review

- CGood2190

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-27-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio