Dead Man's Hand : DI Hal Luchewski

  • by Mark Lock
  • Narrated by Paul Thornley
  • Series: DI Hal Luchewski
  • 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first in a new series by debut author Mark Lock, for fans of Mo Hayder, Belinda Bauer and Mark Billingham.
Detective Inspector Hal Luchewski's life is complicated. The stress of his job is getting to him - usually in the form of hard liquor. He's still living in his dead father's shadow, his relationship with his daughter is strained and his love life is complex, to say the least.... Although nearly 40, Hal's still reconciling himself to the fact he's gay....
When teenager Danny Wiseman’s butchered body is found in a squalid bedsit in South London, Hal and his team think they have a psychopath on the loose. When a second body is found - that of an ex-guard at Granton Young Offender Institution - Hal fears the worst.
Is it a coincidence that Wiseman recently spent time at Granton, a place which has become a byword for corruption and scandal? Is Hal up against a former inmate's wrath or something even more sinister? Soon enough the case gets personal - and in more ways than one....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Left me panting for more!

Excellent tight, intelligent thriller perfectly read by Paul Thornley.
Very sympathetic hero whose humanity, strength and frailty make this more than a formulaic read. Fantastic plot that keeps you guessing beautifully written.
Can't wait for the next one.
Five Star Plus
Read full review

- Anna

more Luchewski series, please

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, the plot is always engaging, sometimes compelling; the character development is solid and leaves one wanting to get to know the main characters better.


Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Not on the edge of my seat, but kept me awake a half hour longer than I planned to learn an outcome. At the end of the book, the set-up for the next book was clear which is why I hope Audible.com picks it up.


Have you listened to any of Paul Thornley’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No. I thought he did a great job reading although the shift between voices--generally not accompanied by a chapter change--made me back up the recording several times as I belatedly figured out a different character was talking. To be fair, there are a lot of characters talking.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No, I don't think I've yet listened to a book on which I felt compelled to binge.


Read full review

- Dr. William J. Kass

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-14-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios