Dead Days of Summer : Death on Demand

  • by Carolyn Hart
  • Narrated by Kate Reading
  • Series: Death on Demand
  • 9 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Murder hits close to home for Death on Demand bookstore owner Annie Darling and her beloved husband, Max. While investigating a new case, Max calls Annie to let her know he may be late getting home. He never shows up. Annie knows something dreadful has happened to him. During the search for Max, his car is found on a remote road: with a murder weapon in the trunk and a beautiful but very dead young woman nearby. The case becomes a media sensation with Max portrayed as an unfaithful husband willing to kill to get rid of a mistress. As the evidence against Max continues to mount, chief of police Billy Cameron is called off the case. But Billy risks his career to continue the hunt for a silver car briefly seen following Max's on the night of the murder, and Annie is forced to go undercover in a desperate attempt to clear her husband's name. Risking her life, she enters the victim's unfamiliar world in the hopes of understanding how and why Max is involved. With time running out, Annie has one last chance to capture a wily murderer who just may have committed the perfect crime.


What the Critics Say

"Her plan of attack is similar to that employed by many spy novelists: start with a dizzying series of short scenes introducing characters, zero in on one person in particular trouble, and spend the rest of the novel spellbinding the reader with plot intersections." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Death on demand

Another great installment of this series. As always there was laughter and tears. Very enjoyable. Narrator was very good with the pace and different voices. I highly recommend this book.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

great more suspenseful

last few books were OK but it seemed like the series would end, this book was a breath of fresh air
Read full review

- Eric L Aust

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-13-2006
  • Publisher: Books on Tape