Days of Rage : Smokey Dalton

  • by Kris Nelscott
  • Narrated by Mirron Willis
  • Series: Smokey Dalton
  • 12 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nominated for The Best Private Eye Hardcover Novel of the Year
Chosen as one of the top ten books of the year by Kirkus.
Chosen as one of the best mystery novels of the year by Deadly Pleasures Magazine
Winner, Spotted Owl Award for Best Mystery by a Northwest Writer.
Shamus nomination for Best Private Eye Hardcover Novel.
Chicago, 1969: The trial of eight protestors from the Democratic Convention the previous year has the whole world watching - and all of Chicagoland on edge. Smokey Dalton feels the pressure: more cops on the streets, more FBI in his neighborhood. But when the landlord at one of Sturdy Investments’ South Side properties dies alone in his apartment, Smokey agrees to investigate. He finds old human bones in the basement, along with hints of more.
Smokey and his girlfriend, Sturdy’s CEO Laura Hathaway, worry that Laura’s father knew who used that basement and why. Without involving law enforcement, they decide to hold a thorough investigation and discover secrets they never ever imagined - secrets that could threaten Smokey, Laura, Sturdy, and one of Chicago’s greatest institutions. Secrets worth killing for.


What the Critics Say

"Set in 1969 during the trial of the Chicago Eight, Edgar-finalist Nelscott’s sixth Smokey Dalton novel deftly interweaves the issue of race with politics, societal question and personal relationships." (Publisher’s Weekly)
"When Kris Nelscott started her impressive series about Smokey Dalton...many critics and readers wondered how long she could keep up the pace. Days of Rage, her sixth book in the Dalton series, indicates there seems to be no end in sight." (Chicago Tribune)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Book 6 - May Be the Best of the Series

I've listened to all of them and each one has been excellent. I believe this one could be the best of all - so far. I intend to buy Book 7 right now!
Read full review

- Dr. Meggin McIntosh

An historical narrative of OUR Civil Rights j

In addition to a remarkable story and narration, is the intimate struggle of African Americans. Interwoven in each of the characters is the authentic experiences felt by young and old. It is so honestly written that the listener is transported to such historical moments that provided the foundation for benefits, often taken for granted. This entire series should be a requirement for our youth to remind them of the tremendous sacrifices and struggles we overcame, and a blueprint on how to approach the struggles ahead.
Read full review

- Sharon Simpson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-30-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios