Dark Harbor : Scott Finn

  • by David Hosp
  • Narrated by George Guidall
  • Series: Scott Finn
  • 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci. Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.
The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.


What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Dark Harbor

Generally well written and interesting except the author does what so many mystery writers do when they are stuck (and editors let them do it): they make the character do something that intelligent people would never do if they wanted to live. To what I mean, try this test: You are an attorney accused of murder. You are sitting in your law office holding in your hand the ONLY COPY of evidence that will prove you innocent and convict a mob boss. You know that the mob is after you to get this ONLY COPY of the evidence. You must get it to the police station a few blocks away to deliver the evidence. Do you (a) fax it to the police, (b) make copies and mail them to the police and your attorney (and all your friends, while you're at it), or (c) put the ONLY COPY of the evidence in your pocket and walk to the police station assuming the mob is out there looking for you. If you chose C, this book is for you.
Read full review

- Joe E. Wheaton "Now living in Columbus OH"

A Minority Opinion

Obviously, a lot of people liked this book and reader. I am not one of them. I failed to find any similarity with the works of John Grisham, John Sandford, or David Baldacci, all of whom I like a great deal. I found character development severly lacking. For a former street thug, Scott is not very street-smart and the author offers very little background to support this past life. The police lieutenant is unprofessional, getting involved personally with Scott right away. Her rank is totally unbelievable given her active role in the investigation and her ineptitude. The plot line was massively predictable and the action just plain dumb; my eyes were dizzy from rolling them so often. The ending was laughable. George Guidall swallowed words and sometimes ends of sentences. He spoke so low he was difficult to hear in all but the quietest setting. This audiobook was, in a word, bad.
Read full review

- Dawn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-10-2005
  • Publisher: Recorded Books