Daemon : Daemon

  • by Daniel Suarez
  • Narrated by Jeff Gurner
  • Series: Daemon
  • 15 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

More

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Hit Play, Take Both Hands And Grab Your A##

Cause you are in for a ride.

This is William Gibson on steroids, Tom Clancy condensed, Asimov reincarnated and Robert J. Sawyer on Flash Forward with a splash of Ayn Rand and George R.R. Martin.

This will appeal to Techies, Sci-Fi fans, action/adventurers, Virtual Reality freaks, and Gamers.

This is high tech and fast paced. I was afraid as a middle age man, who plays only offline games and can remember when Pong was a hit, that I would get lost in the tech, but it was not a problem. I may not have understood 100% of the Tech, but did most and was amazed by all. I wonder if I was suppose to feel bad when it was announced, "All Spammers must die."

Did you know that Texas is not afraid of guns, but is scared of Laptops?

As someone who has suffered under nepotism, I certainly understand how the disfranchised could take over the world.

Based on the names given to blacks, I believe Suarez is a fan of Walter Mosley.

This has lots of violence, gore and some sex.

The narrator sounds similar to the main narrator for Graphic Audio, but I don't believe he is affiliated with them. The whole production is of top quality.

I highly recommend this book.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Possibly The Best Techno-thriller Ever

No that title isn't an exaggeration. If you're content in knowing the information provided in the title and would like to skip the praise I'm about to bestow and just buy the book.

So, another book about computers taking over the world. Ho hum, blah blah, yes? Actually no. While I was reading Daemon the thought that this could really happen kept going through my head. Without giving away some of the plot points, I'll just say this. Read some of the recent news about the Storm botnet. Think about peoples addictions to WoW. Then read the book. Then think about those subjects again.

A few words to the techies: SQL injection attack, botnet, and rootkit. All those words/phrases can be found in this book. No no, my friends, this is not the book equivalent of Hackers (you know where code magically floats across the screen and other cheap tricks), this is a book written by a systems consultant (read: normally the guy that gets called in with the regular schmoes can't figure things out) for Fortune 100 companies. To use a common cliche, he "gets it." Actually he gets it, gets into its inner workings, and turns it inside out. Vague, I know, but I'm trying very hard not to spoil the fun of this book.

There is no reason for you not to read Daemon, no matter your level of technical understanding. Everyone from the CEO who has only the vaguest understanding of his IT infrastructure to the mail room guy who goes home to play WoW for 8 hours to the advertising exec who only knows how to check his email. Check it out from the library, buy it online, or borrow it, just find a way to read it. Read some sample chapters of Daemon if you need more convincing.
Read full review

- Erica

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2009
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio