Crack House

  • by Harry Keeble, Kris Hollington
  • Narrated by Damian Lynch
  • 7 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Crack House takes the listener into the dark heart of our cities' most violent and terrifying places, showing how the war on drugs can only be won by constant and forceful vigilance. The bastard offspring of cocaine, crack first entered the UK in the early 1990s. By the end of the decade, Britain's inner cities were in the midst of a crack epidemic, with users being responsible for a massive proportion of crime. Communities, especially in London, were crying out for help, but there were only two specialist units in the whole of the capital.
One of them, Haringey Drugs Squad, embarked on a war on crack, aiming to shut down all 100 crack houses in their borough in one year. Amazingly, they did it. Even more amazingly, in the subsequent 12 months all black-on-black killings in Haringey ceased, and burglaries and muggings fell massively.
In Crack House, Harry Keeble describes in heart-stopping fashion the raids and arrests, as well as the beatings, stabbings, and shootings he witnessed as leader of the Haringey Drugs Squad and their war on drugs.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This book is hot, steamy mess.

I gave up after 3 hours of listening. It's a bunch of micro-stories that barely follow the loose plot and jump around from minute to minute. It's very hard to follow along.
Read full review

- Nick

Entertaining and enlightening

Fascinating glimpse into the fight by a few good cops against the ever-rising tide of drug merchants in a north London borough. The drug squad's success in the face of bureaucratic and institutional apathy, and downright ineptitude, is, I think, a testament to their dedication and the author's leadership... or at least that's how the story reads. I've queued up his next book "Baby X" to see where he goes from here. Damian Lynch is fast becoming one of my favourite narrators.
Read full review

- Lisa YHZ

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-08-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios