Countdown : Eve Duncan

  • by Iris Johansen
  • Narrated by Kate Burton
  • Series: Eve Duncan
  • 4 hrs and 43 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Don't kill her. She's no good to us dead." These words haunt Jane MacGuire after a shocking attack shatters her world in an instant. Was it a random kidnapping attempt, or the countdown to something far more sinister? Who is after her, and what do they want so badly they'll kill anyone in their way? That's what Jane is determined to find out, without the help of the police, the FBI, or her adoptive parents, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and her husband, Joe Quinn, of the Atlanta PD, because whoever is after her won't hesitate to hurt those she loves the most. Now Jane will go on the run with the only man who may be more dangerous than those who are pursuing her. A smuggler, a con man, and who knew what else, Mark Trevor had his own mysterious reasons for wanting to keep Jane safe and out of the hands of a killer obsessed with a 2,000-year-old mystery that could rock the modern-day world.
Orphaned at an early age, Jane grew up the hard way, but she was given a new life, a loving family, and a chance to pursue her interest in one of the greatest archaeological finds ever unearthed. Now someone was trying to destroy that new life before it could even get started. The past is returning with the kind of vengeance that knows no mercy. The countdown has already begun, and it's approaching zero faster than anyone thinks.


What the Critics Say

"Action, romance, castles, bomb plots, and a booby-trapped hideaway in snowbound Idaho: what more could Johansen fans want?" (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

wonderful author

I absolutely love Iris Johansen's books, especially the Eve Duncan series. I don't think though that I have heard the right person narrating them yet. She however is a brilliant author.
Read full review

- Tammy H.


Drugs are what you believe you're on when you're listening to this dreadful abridged book by Ms. Iris Johansen. Ms. Johansen's work is beyond the realm of terrible with an inspid plot and writing--which isn't the complete product of the abridgment. The plot, if you can call it that, does not surface early on and revolves on a number of people with accents--which the reader frequently confused with one another. Because it is abridged, it skips right along of course, and half the time you don't know what the hell is going on (not that you will care). The producer of this piece should be forced to listen to their work. My friend and I were listening to this in a car--and at first we were angry-but by the end we were screaming with laughter at every turn because the book became so unbearably bad.
Read full review

- Joshua

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2005
  • Publisher: Random House Audio