Regular price: $24.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the summer of 1992, a year after riots exploded between black and Jewish neighbors in Crown Heights, a black family is brutally murdered in their Brooklyn home. A teenager is quickly convicted, and the justice system moves on.
Twenty-two years later, journalist Rebekah Roberts gets a letter: "I didn't do it." Frustrated with her work at the city's sleaziest tabloid, Rebekah starts to dig. But witnesses are missing, memories faded, and almost no one wants to talk about that grim, violent time in New York City - not even Saul Katz, a former cop and her source in Brooklyn's insular Hasidic community.
So she goes it alone. And as she gets closer to the truth of that night, Rebekah finds herself in the path of a killer with two decades of secrets to protect.
From the author of the Edgar-nominated Invisible City comes another timely thriller that illuminates society's darkest corners. Told in part through the eyes of a jittery eyewitness and the massacre's sole survivor, Julia Dahl's Conviction examines the power - and cost - of community, loyalty, and denial.
©2017 Julia Dahl (P)2017 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By shelley on 06-28-18

Glad I found this series...

This is some story. This is the third book in the Rebekah Roberts series. The publisher's summary gives more than enough information to know what this book is about. I really like this series and the way the Hasidic Jewish community is portrayed. For fans of Faye Kellerman's Decker and Lazarus series you may enjoy this one as well. I think there are a lot of misconceptions regarding the Hasidic community. This series gives many explanations for what appears to be strange or cultish behavior but actually has a reason and an origin that makes sense. Much of this comes from the Holocaust.
This book goes back to just after the three day riots in Crown Heights between the different races living there and the Hasidim. When a young black activist, his wife and three year old daughter are murdered in their beds, their 16 year old foster son is tried and convicted. 22 years later he still says he's innocent and contacts Rebekah (an investigative journalist) for help.
This is an excellent story. Rebekah comes up against many obstacles, some from her own family, some the police force and the rest from both communities. All with their own secrets.
EXCELLENT!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Andi Arndt does a great job narrating.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 07-20-18

Journalist Rebekah Roberts, Book 3

CONVICTION has a fascinating plot about a 22 year old triple murder for which an innocent young man was convicted. Journalist Rebekah Roberts solves the mystery that has both racial and religious overtones. The 1992 murders occurred in Crown Heights (NYC) a year after riots there involving blacks and Jews. The plot, character development, and narration are superb. This is a rare suspense mystery/thriller that is superb without constantly building suspense. It deals with religious and ethical issues in a mature and insightful manner.

Once again a review by Shelley of Raleigh NC have led me to an outstanding listen. If you like the mystery thriller genre you should follow her.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews