Regular price: $20.34

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.34

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Spithead, 1784.
His Majesty's frigate, Undine, sets sail for India and the seas beyond. Europe may be at peace - but in colonial waters the promises of statesmen count for little and the bloody struggle for supremacy still goes on. Richard Bolitho would have cause to remember his admiral's words: 'The task I am giving you would be better handled by a squadron'.
©1975 Alexander Kent (P)2014 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

“One of our foremost writers of naval fiction.” (Sunday Times, London)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 05-15-13

A trip to the East Indies

I love a good sea story. I had finished reading all the Patrick O'Brien books and started on C. S. Forester, now I have discovered Alexander Kent. He is not as well known as the other two but he is a master story teller and as good as the above mention writers. This book takes place in the period between the ending of the American War of Independence and the French Revolutionary War. Many Royal Navy Captains are being beached at half pay. So Richard Bolitho is happy he is assign to Captain the 24 gun frigate Undine to sail to the East Indies. The trip goes down the coast of Africa around the Cape to India then on to what is now Indonesia. Lots of adventures along the way. He delivers the new British governor to the former Spanish post but finds the people almost dead with disease and constant fighting off native pirates. Now the real suspense, action, sea battles begin. Could not stop listening. Kent keeps on entranced in the story. Michael Jayson does a good job narrating the story. I hope that Audible will carry all the Alexander Kent books.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Brodie on 12-27-10

Premier Listening

Buy extra credits and download as many Kent Bolitho books as you can. Then be transported in time and place(s), you will not regret it for this author is the king of his craft.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Laurence on 10-29-11

Boys Own Adventure

For all Patrick O'Brien fans who have run out of books this is decidedly one step down and should be listed as an adventure yarn. Not much seamanship here its up and down with the top gallants loke a whore's draws on a Saturday night in Portsmouth.
If you like your swashbuckling gory red and Navy blue you might well take to this.

Read More Hide me

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc