Regular price: $22.80

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Devastated by the discovery that his wife, Helen, was murdered, Special Agent Pendergast must have retribution. But revenge is not simple. As he stalks his wife's betrayers - a chase that takes him from the wild moors of Scotland to the bustling streets of New York City and the darkest bayous of Louisiana - he is also forced to dig further into Helen's past. And he is stunned to learn that Helen may have been a collaborator in her own murder.
Peeling back the layers of deception, Pendergast realizes that the conspiracy is deeper, goes back generations, and is more monstrous than he could have ever imagined - and everything he's believed, everything he's trusted, everything he's understood... may be a horrific lie.
©2011 Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child (P)2011 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By GH on 11-18-12

Powerful Buildup -- Best Pendergast Series Yet!

The second of the three Prendergast books, Cold Vengeance is a powerfully written thriller. It does not rely on technology or gimmicks but on good old fashion thrill, suspense and plot twists. In continuation from the first, Pendergast is still trying to find out who killed his wife, or was she killed. In this installment you’ll find out – I’m not telling. All of the twists and turns are very much worth it. The authors leave enough major issues open that you can’t wait to read the final installment. Yet, Preston and Child still provide enough closure to satisfy. The work has plot, depth, villainy, conflict and it is hard to put down.

This book reintroduces an old friend, Corrie Swanson, from a previous thriller -- Still Life with Crows. That novel was weak, Corrie being the only bright spot. It was good to see her back in this novel. This is the second trilogy of the Pendergast series. The first was excellent and the second trilogy is better than the first. I suggest you read the series. Don’t read this without first reading Fever Dream or it will not make sense as this novel does not stand on its own.

Read More Hide me

12 of 13 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Paul on 01-19-13

Pendergast - The Romantic?

This is the second installment of the Helen Pendergast saga. It is a good story but I hope this series ends with "Two Graves" ? This is particularly so, as the series seems to require reading all 3 books (so far) to get the gist of what's going on. Other references to earlier novels are also included but not required reading. What began as an enjoyable multi--book story is now evolving into an undergraduate course on Pendergast, that requires juggling much information, and with no end in sight.

On the upside, Rene Auberjonois does a terrific job with portraying Pendergast, a complicated hero with a multitude of skills, as well as the other myriad characters who come and go in this novel and series.

On the downside, the authors' effort to portray Pendergast's love for his elusive wife Helen was clumsy and amateurish. Gazing together upon a "buttery moon" was one of many cringe-inducing scenes that showed the authors are far better at writing fast-paced thrillers with subtle twists than syrupy teenage romances.

Bottom line: Still a good read, but let's hope a satisfying conclusion is not too far over the horizon.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews