Regular price: $13.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When Rachel Lindstrom fled from her rural hometown in Western Illinois to join the State Department and see the world, she never expected to return with her life in tatters. But after the horrors of war and a painful divorce, the only place where she can rebuild is the town she once escaped.
At home, however, there is little comfort. Her brother, still reeling from his wife's suicide, struggles to run the family farm and handle a hell-raising son. Rachel's arrival also draws a pair of rival suitors: her brother's handsome friend and a rough-hewn sheriff's deputy who pined for her in high school. Romance is the last thing on Rachel's mind, but a little comfort would be nice - except for the complications.
When a deranged killer escapes from a local prison, the far-flung farmsteads go on high alert - especially when the bodies start turning up. And in a county where the miles outnumber the people, it soon becomes clear that the madman is close behind Rachel.
©2015 Sam Reaves (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Student of History on 10-06-16

Really disappointed

One of my first Audible books. The narrative was interesting, but a bit repetitive. But the two things that really drove me crazy were the narrator and the ending. The narrator has a habit of emphasizing the wrong words in a sentence or overemphasizing too many words. I found this extremely distracting. It also illustrated to me how important the narrator is in interpreting an audible book. Although I enjoyed most of this book, the ending seemed so contrived and out of left field, that I was not even interested in the unraveling and explaining of the story in the final chapters. I do love Audible though!

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Historygal777 on 09-15-16

Good suspense

I'm excited to have found a new suspense writer. And the narrator is good too. I'll be purchasing more of Sam Reaves's books to listen to.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc