Clear and Present Danger : The Jack Ryan Universe (chronological order)

  • by Tom Clancy
  • Narrated by J. Charles
  • Series: The Jack Ryan Universe (chronological order)
  • 25 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The U.S. president, unsatisfied with the success of his "war on drugs", decides that he wants some immediate success. But after John Clark's covert strike team is deployed to Colombia for Operation Showboat, the drug lords strike back, taking several civilian casualties. The chief executive's polls plummet. He orders that the unofficial plan be terminated, leaving no traces.
Jack Ryan, who has just been named CIA deputy director of intelligence, is enraged when he discovers that he has been left out of the loop. Several of America's most highly trained soldiers are stranded on an unfinished mission that, according to all records, never existed. Ryan decides to get the men out.


What the Critics Say

"Rousing adventure....A crackling good yarn." (The Washington Post)
"The issues raised are real ones, and a jump ahead of the headlines." (The New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Hard listen

First I want to say this is a great book, in print! I spend my days driving and love to listen to books on my Ipod.
The first thing I noticed was the narrator talks like he is dictating a long letter. I do not think he ever takes a breath and he talks very fast.
Sometimes he moves from one chapter to the next without a pause and I get lost. I also find it hard to distinguse between characters because his voice never seems to change.
These things may not bother some people but this is a very long book and the narrator of a book can either make or break a book.
Read full review

- T. Webb

Clear and Present Danger

Did not like the reader. Hard to understand and he read it too fast.
Read full review

- Jack

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-05-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio