Regular price: $18.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Written in the tradition of Robert B. Parker's Spenser and Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe, the Jim Knighthorse series introduces a new hard-hitting, wise-cracking hero with a modern twist.
Private investigator Jim Knighthorse returns in book 4 of the series when he's hired to find out if Freddie Calgary, a popular movie and TV star, really overdosed and died two years ago, or if he is still alive. The investigation turns into a big road trip as Jim follows the clues to L.A., Sedona, and San Antonio. There is plenty of action and danger as the dark side of Hollywood spills its blood, secrets and scandal over three cities.
©2013 J. R. Rain (P)2014 J. R. Rain
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Me & My Girls on 05-24-14

Best Knighthorse yet

Once past the first two or three chapters the Spenser clone aspect of the series faded a bit and more aspects of the character evolved. Jim is still the one woman man; Cindy (Susan.) The dog that sleeps in his bed; Junior (Pearl.) The homicide detective that he's tight with; Sanchez (Quirk or Belson.) However the character of Jack sets Knighthorse apart from not only Spenser, but from pretty much any of the fictional literary detectives. Jack is a man who may or not be god; dresses and smells like someone who sleeps in an alley or behind a dumpster. An agent named Atkins appears in Knighthorse's doorway. his star client Freddie Calgary died of an overdose in Sedona two years earlier. Things get complicated the next day Atkins is killed by a gunshot to the head. So Knighthorse heads for the red rocks of Sedona. Rather than spoil the second half of the book I'll just say that our boy Jim kicks ass, takes names and brings justice to a couple of not so nice thugs. An excellent escapist story and Knighthorse is an entertaining character.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jan on 10-20-17

Hilarious!

audiobook, comedy, contemporary, detective, hard-boiled, hilarious, mystery, murder

Never met a Rain book I didn't like, and this is no exception. Lots of snarks and innuendo and a main character who certainly is adds to an intriguing mystery. If certain aspects of Jim Knighthorse weren't so blatantly tongue in cheek, he could be rather annoying, but you can't stay irked at a guy who has lunch with God. The mystery is good and full of twists and red herrings, so enjoy!
Jason Starr is terrific as narrator and has the sardonic down pat.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc