Cinderella Girl

  • by Carin Gerhardsen
  • Narrated by Candida Gubbins
  • 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable, audiobook edition of Cinderella Girl by Carin Gerhardsen. Read by the actress Candida Gubbins.
Three-year-old Hanna wakes up to find she has been abandoned. Her family is gone. The house is locked. She is trapped. Meanwhile, a teenage girl has been found murdered aboard the Cinderella, a cruise ship which sails between Sweden and Finland. Detective Chief Inspector Conny Sjoberg visits the girl's home to deliver the tragic news. But as he investigates, it becomes chillingly clear that the girl's younger sister will meet a similar fate - unless the police can crack the case and trap this elusive and vicious killer.
And all the while, somewhere in Stockholm, a little girl waits to be found and rescued.... Cinderella Girl is the nail-biting second book in the critically acclaimed Hammarby Series. Fans of Jo Nesbo, Camilla Lackberg, and Henning Mankell will be gripped by Gerhardsen's characters and stories.


What the Critics Say

"Carin Gerhardsen writes so vividly, like she is painting with words, gripping your heart and soul in an ever-tightening tourniquet" (Peter James)
"The pages turn themselves, right up to the final startling twist" (John Verdon)
"The books are fast-paced and addictive: finely tuned pieces that virtually demand to be read in one sitting" (Barry Forshaw)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

loved it

What did you love best about Cinderella Girl?

The story the characters and he narrator were all really good, thought the book was well written

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Yes it did as I didn't pick who the killer was until almost the end

What does Candida Gubbins bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Candida you are a very good narrator and very easy to listen to. Made the story come to life.

Any additional comments?

I really loved both the books but am disappointed that the others in the series are narrated
In Swedish and I don't speak Swedish so I hope they will be narrated in English in the future so can listen to them also PLEASE and thank you

Read full review

- katie

The Waiting Game

Cinderella Girl unfolds with the introduction of many characters with varying storylines that do not appear to be connected. Once I was able to begin to discern who the characters were, the novel built momentum and picqued my interest but the author does continue to introduce new characters throughout the story which lead to some ongoing frustration. The story revolves around two murders and the possible link between the two. There is an abandoned three year old in the story whose dialogue and thought process is well beyond her three years of life. As far as the narration goes, the narrator was unable to portray a male voice without sounding exactly like every other female in the book and I was often pondering whose character was speaking. The storyline is unique and complicated creating an interesting mystery but the entire mystery comes to an abrupt ending without tying up many of the loose ends. The author knows how to create curiosity and build momentum but she did not seem able to create a logical sequence of events. Not a terrible novel but not too good either. I don't recommend.
Read full review

- Marjorie "Life's good when I am listening to a great book."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2014
  • Publisher: Penguin