Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

China is book one of The Flense quadrilogy, an international technothriller from the bestselling author of <>Gameland.
Hundreds die in a fiery train crash in northern China. A cargo ship smuggling refugees is lost to calm seas off the Libyan coast. Entire villages in Ghana are abandoned overnight.
Contracted by an apocalypse prepper group to investigate a series of seemingly disconnected global tragedies, a young medical investigative reporter, Angelique de l'Enfantine, uncovers a disturbing pattern to the tragedies. Are they harbingers of an impending biblical catastrophe? Or practice runs by a fanatical organization bent on global annihilation?
©2015 Saul Tanpepper (P)2017 Saul Tanpepper
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By A. Porter on 10-17-17

Loved it!

Very intriguing story. I can’t wait to read more of the stories in the Flense series!

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By H D on 09-29-17

Thrilling first in a series.

Thrilling first in a series that keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. I like the characters and can't wait to get the next book. There is a lot of violence, senseless death, and cruelity... so be warned. I Voluntarily reviewed this audiobook after receiving an advanced copy that I requested.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Norma Miles on 08-21-17

Chasing theories down rabbit holes

Any additional comments?

An island, known as an international tourist resort, is devastated by an 8.3 earthquake followed by a gigantic tsunami. Yet it is not reported anywhere, nor is there any attempted recovery. Following just a rumour, a journalist and a photographer arrive three weeks later to see what had happened. And so, for Angelique, begins a nightmare she had never foreseen.

Saul Tanpeppers writing is easy to read and the story flows freely between people and places. It tells a fascinating mystery with underlying horror: conspiracy and double dealing: something is terribly wrong, something hidden or disguised. And there are people determined to prevent their discovery.

The characterisations are very good and the descriptions vividly visual, the strangely eery introductory chapter immediately grabbing the reader's attention. This audio version is read by Doug Greene, whose pleasant to hear voice has a depth perfectly suited to the book. His text narration is well modulated and paced, not too fast but still brisk enough to carry the story forcefully forward. His is much more of a reading than a performance, with little attempt to give individual voicings to the protagonists, but their conversations are fluently read and it is always obvious who it is that is speaking.

This is a book to delight and excite all who enjoy a good conspiracy mystery and action story as well as a glimpse into the greed and sometime madness of scientific development. I hope that the other Flense books follow soon in audio format. Meanwhile, I'm off to read the next one on ebook.
An unusual and excellent read.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews