Regular price: $13.85

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.85

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Now a major movie, directed by Daniel Espinosa and starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace, and Gary Oldman.
For fans of Robert Harris, John Le Carre, and Martin Cruz Smith comes a gripping thriller set in Moscow, 1953. Under Stalin's terrifying regime families live in fear. When the all-powerful State claims there is no such thing as crime, who dares disagree?
An ambitious secret police officer, Leo Demidov has spent his career arresting anyone who steps out of line. Suddenly his world is turned upside down when he uncovers evidence of a killer at large. Now, with only his wife at his side, Leo must risk both their lives to save the lives of others.
Inspired by a real-life investigation, Child 44 is a relentless story of love, hope and bravery in a totalitarian world. It is a thriller unlike any you have ever read.
©2008 Tom Rob Smith; (P)2008 Simon & Schuster Audio
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Caroline on 03-15-17

was disappointed

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Not really sure. Was disappointed with ending to the story, but not sure whether this was in part to listening to the abridged version - I have never read an abridged version before so I'm not sure how much of the story is 'lost'...

What was most disappointing about Tom Rob Smith’s story?

The ending.

What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

I didn't particularly like the narrator. I know he was giving a 'Russian' performance but I found it at bit monotonous.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Child 44?

I think it possibly was already cut too much!

Any additional comments?

Again, not sure how much of my disappointment with the story was down to listening to the abrdiged version.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc