Regular price: $14.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the series Suspense Magazine voted the "Best of 2014!"
Chase Baker is famous for seeking out ancient antiquities and treasure from some of the most exotic, not to mention, dangerous locales on earth. But when he runs into fellow author, Les Edgerton, at SuspenseFest, a conference for thriller writers in NYC, the two get talking about the 1930s notorious gangster, Dutch Schultz, and the legend of his hidden treasure, which is said to be buried in a little town in upstate New York. Feeling fine from a few drinks at the hotel bar, Chase and Les decide to skip the festival in order to seek out some real suspense. That is, the location of the Dutch Schultz Treasure.
Little do they know, but another writer, a beautiful and talented author of true crime stories, will tail them all the way upstate. When she finally connects with them, she reveals her personal connection to the Schultz treasure which purportedly contains a fistful of priceless blue diamonds that were transported to America back in the mid-1800s by slaves. Slaves who, it turns out, were her great-great-grandparents. Armed with a map carved into the back of a man's skull, and having to fight off a team of very crooked and greedy Russians who are also seeking out the treasure, Chase and his team of literary irregulars land themselves into a heap of trouble and hair-raising adventures that promise to put them not only in prison, but in the hospital.
For fans of Dan Brown, J.R. Rain, Clive Cussler, and Russell Blake, best-selling Thriller Award winner Vincent Zandri delivers the latest in the romantic action and adventure pulp series Suspense Magazine voted as one of "The Best of 2014."
©2017 Vincent Zandri (P)2017 Vincent Zandri
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jan on 08-09-17

Great fun!

action-adventure, greed, situational-humor, verbal-humor, amateur-sleuth

Talk about starting with a bang! You wouldn't believe me if I told you. But you might believe that the two inebriated writers accumulate an Uber driver, and another writer with connections to help find a fortune in diamonds. Add in some nasty Russian mafia types and some really awful humor, and you have a really great read! I totally loved it.
Andrew B Wehrlen did a great job as narrator, and gave the quirky characters even more interesting depths.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Ashanti on 10-17-17

Another Satisfying Entry In The Series

“Chase Baker and the Dutch Diamonds” is book 10 in an 11 book series. This time Chase is at a conference for thriller writers in New York, called Suspense Fest. At the conference, Chase runs into a fellow author, Les Edgerton. After a few drinks, the two end up talking about the 1930s gangster, Dutch Schultz and the legend of Schultz's hidden treasure. One thing leads to another and soon the two men are ditching the conference to pursue Dutch Schultz’s treasure. There is action, almost immediately, as the adventure unfolds, as well as the usual cast of characters one has grown to expect from a Chase Baker story.

Although the scale of this Chase Baker entry isn’t as grand as some of the previous entries in the series, the entertainment factor is still what a reader/listener has come to expect from the series as well as the excellent narration. One should have no problem enjoying book 10. I can only hope the author, Vincent Zandri will continue to write more Chase Baker stories. Finally, this audiobook was provided by the narrator at no cost in exchange for an honest review, courtesy of Audio Book Boom.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Norma Miles on 05-28-17

"More fun than Suspensefest."

Any additional comments?

Chase Baker and another writer escape from the Suspensefest convention they are attending and, over a few drinks decide to abandon boredom and instead search for the missing Schultz treasure that Edgerton had heard about. After a poor start, and an unfortunate encounter with a Russian father and son team, they are joined by another writer, this time of true crime, who claims she knows the real location, not that previously expected. How does she know? She is a defendant of Schultz's close servant at the time the treasure was hidden.

This is a fantastic Zandri romp with great throw away dialogue, adventure and fun. Much more fun than the Suspensefest and with the hope of enormous financial reward. The characters are great, the search exciting and, predictably, filled with difficulties and betrayals. One of the best in the Chase Baker series. As always, Andrew Wehrlen's narration is superb, well paced, each individual voice distinctive and appropriate, the whole a delight to the ear. He breathes even greater life and amusement into the text than that already present on the writing.A really enjoyable book.

My thanks to the rights holder for gifting me a copy of Chase Baker and the Dutch Diamonds, via Audiobook Boom. This is a great series, always exciting, constantly surprising and different. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a well performed easy listen of a light hearted, thrill filled book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews