Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Walter Mosley's indelible detective Easy Rawlins is back, with a new detective agency and a new mystery to solve.
Picking up where Rose Gold left off in LA in the late 1960s, Ezekiel "Easy" Rawlins finds his life in transition. He's ready to - finally - propose to his girlfriend, Bonnie Shay, and start a life together. And he's taken the money he got from the Rose Gold case and has, together with two partners, started a new detective agency. But inevitably a case gets in the way: Easy's friend, Mouse, introduces him to Rufus Tyler, a very old man everyone calls Charcoal Joe. Joe's friend's son, Seymour (young, bright, top of his class at Stanford), has been arrested and charged with the murder of a white man from Redondo Beach. Rufus tells Easy he will pay and pay well to see his nephew exonerated, but seeing as how Seymour was literally found standing over the man's dead body at his cabin home and the racially charged motives behind it, that might prove to be a tall order.
Between his new company, a heart that should be broken but is not, a whole raft of new bad guys on his tail, and a bad odor that surrounds Charcoal Joe, Easy has his hands full, his horizons askew, and a life in shambles on the ground around his feet.
©2016 Walter Mosley (P)2016 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Narrator Michael Boatman is no stranger to Walter Mosley's Easy Rawlins mystery series. His comfort with the author's style and the title character's swagger make Charcoal Joe a captivating listen.... The author's wit and sarcasm are enhanced by a narration that envelops the listener in 1960s Los Angeles. Both longtime Mosley fans and new ones will take another drive or walk around the block just to listen a little longer." ( AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jason Jackson on 01-20-17

The best Easy ever!

Being a true Walter Mosley and Easy Rawlings fan isn't easy, but this installment was worth the wait. Can't wait to see what's coming next.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By rc woods on 12-17-16

Charcoal Joe is another excellent "Easy Rawlins" tale.

I am a Walter Mosley fan. I especially love this series. This work will certainly satisfy the appetite of anyone who loves the Easy Rawlins stories. The audible narration bring the characters to life and leaps into your ears. Only disappointment is that this one came out in 2016, so now I have to hope that Mr Mosley will write book 15 very soon!

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc