Certain Prey : Lucas Davenport

  • by John Sandford
  • Narrated by Richard Ferrone
  • Series: Lucas Davenport
  • 10 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Her name is Clara Rinker, a southern woman, trim, pleasant, attractive, and the best hit woman in the business. She isn't showy; she just goes quietly about her business, collects her money, and goes home.
It's when she's hired for a job in Minnesota that things become complicated for her. A defense attorney wants a rival eliminated, and that's fine. But then a witness survives, the attorney starts acting weird, this big cop Davenport gets on her case, and loose ends begin popping up faster than on an unraveling sweater.
Lucas has no idea of the toll the case is about to take on him. For of all the criminals he has hunted during his life, none has been as efficient or as ferociously intelligent as the one who is about to start hunting him, and none has known so well what his weak spots are...and how to penetrate them.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Loved every minute

What a great book. Wild ride with crazy people and Oh, do I love the narrator. Richard Ferrone does a perfect job. He's so good I'd feel cheated if I had to read one of these instead of listening to him read it.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Meet Clara Rinker

I love John Sandford's Prey books, especially the narrated versions because Richard Ferrone is awesome.
One of the reasons I like this book because it introduces Clara, a complex and memorable character. The part about the story I don't care for is the woman who hired Clara. She was a real piece of work. She changed her mind all the time and I was disappointed that Clara went with her crazy ideas so often. Other than that, this is another case where Lucas Davenport goes after the killer with a vengeance. His stubbornness is classic in this book: he suspected the source of all this killing before others saw it. Worthy addition to the Prey series.
Read full review

- D. A. Gordon "Ann"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-25-2012
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio