Center Stage : Magnolia Steele

  • by Denise Grover Swank
  • Narrated by Elise Arsenault
  • Series: Magnolia Steele
  • 10 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ten years ago Magnolia Steele fled Franklin, Tennessee, after an incident that left her with hazy memories and a horror of the place where she had been born and bred. Though her abrupt departure destroyed most of her treasured relationships, she vowed never to return...until she has no choice. When Magnolia's breakout acting role in a Broadway musical ends in disgrace, there's only one place she can go. She finds herself on her momma's porch, suitcase in hand.
Drama follows Magnolia around like a long-lost friend. She reluctantly agrees to help her momma's catering company at a party for a country music star, only to find herself face-to-face with a sleazy music agent from her past. After a very public spat, Magnolia finds not only him dead but herself center stage in the police's investigation. Now she must scramble to prove her innocence, relying on the help of acquaintances old and new.
But the longer Magnolia stays in Franklin, the more she remembers about the big bad incident that chased her away. The past might not be finished with her yet, and what she doesn't remember could be her biggest danger.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well Written Mystery ... and country music.

What did you love best about Center Stage?

It's well written, flows naturally and doesn't feel contrived.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

If it was another author I probably would have thrown the book out the window. But for Denise Grover Swank I'm willing to hold off on my final judgement.

What does Elise Arsenault bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Has a reasonably good vocal range but struggled a little with male characters.

Read full review

- Ian

Slow story initially, wish book was a bit longer

The book had a bit of a slow build, but gets much better towards end. I wish the author went into a bit more detail with the mystery side of the story.
Read full review

- Syed S. Hossain

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-13-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio