Catch Me : Detective D.D. Warren

  • by Lisa Gardner
  • Narrated by Kirsten Potter
  • Series: Detective D.D. Warren
  • 13 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In four days, someone is going to kill me....
Detective D. D. Warren is hard to surprise. But a lone woman outside D.D.’s latest crime scene shocks her with a remarkable proposition: Charlene Rosalind Carter Grant believes that she will be murdered in four days. And she wants Boston’s top detective to handle her death investigation. It will be up close and personal. No evidence of forced entry, no sign of struggle.
Charlie tells a chilling story: Each year at 8:00 p.m. on January 21, a woman has died. The victims have been childhood best friends from a small town in New Hampshire; the motive remains unknown. Now only one friend, Charlie, remains to count down her final hours. But as D.D. quickly learns, Charlie Grant doesn’t plan on going down without a fight. By her own admission, the girl can outshoot, outfight, and outrun anyone in Boston, which begs the question: Is Charlie the next victim, or the perfect perpetrator? As D.D. tracks a vigilante gunman who is killing pedophiles in Boston, she must also delve into the murders of Charlie’s friends, racing to find answers before the next gruesome January 21 anniversary. Is Charlie truly in danger, or is she hiding a terrifying secret that may turn out to be the biggest threat of all?In four days, someone is going to kill me. But he’s gotta catch me first.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Catch this great thriller

This is another excellent thriller by Lisa Gardner. It's the latest in the DD Warren series, and there are references and links to other characters in other books.

The premise is interesting: a woman goes to the police for help, believing that she will be murdered in four days' time. That's based on the fact that her two best childhood friends were murdered a year apart on the same day.

The story alternates between the first-person perspective of Charlie, the woman who thinks she'll be murdered, and the third-person narration concerning Detective DD Warren. The flip back and forth between first and third person works quite well.

I thought I had figured out the plot twist fairly early on, but was completely surprised. This is not one which is easy to figure out. The prologue is, as always, the key to the entire book.

Detective DD Warren struggles with her new-found status as the mother of a 10-week old baby, and there is a very realistic and sympathetic portrayal of the challenge of walking the line between family and career. It was a little surprising that she would be back at work only 10 weeks after having given birth, but maybe that's the world of policing in Boston.

Charlene ("Charlie") grant is a sympathetic but seriously emotionally damaged character, and the clever use of the first-person narration leaves the listener wondering how much is real and how much is mis-perception or mis-remembrance. It's a very effective use of an interesting narrative tool.

There's lots of fascinating information about internet predators and the tricks and skills used by pedophiles and other undesirables.

The narration is very well done. Kirsten Potter does a marvellous job with the various voices, and her narration is steady. She's not overly breathy or nasal, and she doesn't mispronounce words or pause in all the wrong places. She contributes to the success of the book.

The book is a complete page-turner (well, metaphorically anyway). The whodunnit is a complete surprise,but works very well. There are enough odd threads in the book to leave the listener hanging and guessing.

The threads are all interwoven nicely, and there are no dull spots. This is a great book, well worth the credits. This one will appeal to fans of JT Ellison and Karen Rose.
Read full review

- Jennifer

Another wild ride from Lisa Gardner

STORY (police procedural/mystery/thriller) - Wow, can this author write a thriller or what? Listening to the first five minutes of "Catch Me" is some of the best time I've spent as an Audible listener, and the rest of the book continues to deliver. As the summary suggests, Charlene suspects she'll be murdered on the anniversary of the deaths of her two best friends, each being killed one year apart but on the same day. Boston detective DD Warren (female) is trying to help protect Charlene by solving the murders of her two friends, while simultaneously working on a series of internet sexual predator killings. This story has lots more going on to keep it interesting, including a pretty sobering look at mental illness. Then there's an unexpected twist at the end to top everything off.

DD and Charlene are the typical tough-as-nails women I've come to expect from Lisa Gardner. The crimes are intriguing, and the detective work is smart and fast-paced. This would have totally received five stars all across except for two things: (1) DD is the mother to a brand-new baby, and I heard more of that than I cared to, and (2) the way everything wraps up in the end was just a little hard to believe. Thrilling and a great listen, nonetheless!

PERFORMANCE - Love Kirsten Potter. Perfect voice for the characters and great performance of the story.

OVERALL (actual rating 4.5) - If you're looking for an absorbing, thrilling listen, be sure to catch Catch Me by Lisa Gardner. The book addresses some tough issues, and Lisa doesn't flinch. I'm kind of wimpy when it comes to violence, but I was okay listening to everything in this book. That said, this may not be for everyone. Definitely NOT for kids or young teens.
Read full review

- AudioAddict

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2012
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio