• by Duane Swierczynski
  • Narrated by George Bryant, Casey Holloway
  • 11 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It's dangerous enough when an ordinary college girl turns confidential informant. Even more dangerous when she's smarter than the killer, kingpins, and cops who control her.
Honors student Sarie Holland is busted by the local police while doing a favor for her boyfriend. Unwilling to betray him but desperate to avoid destroying her future, Sarie has no choice but to become a CI - a confidential informant.
Philly narcotics cop Ben Wildey is hungry for a career-making bust. The detective thinks he's found the key in Sarie: her boyfriend scores from a midlevel dealer with alleged ties to the major drug gangs.
Sarie turns out to be the perfect CI: a quick study with a shockingly keen understanding of the criminal mind. But Wildey, desperate for results, pushes too hard and inadvertently sends the 19-year-old into a death trap, leaving Sarie hunted by crooked cops and killers alike with nothing to save her - except what she's learned during her harrowing weeks as an informant.
Which is bad news for the police and the underworld. Because when it comes to payback, CI #1373 turns out to be a very quick study....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Terrific Storytelling

Great story! Not my usual genre so I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this book! The story moves quickly keeping the reader at the edge of their seat. I think I will pass the book along to my teenage daughter sort of a cautionary tale? Really liked the feel of Philadelphia and the odd-historic elements. Highly recommend this book looking forward to reading more from this author.
Read full review

- Lisa

Absolutely loved it!

Didn't know what to expect going into the book. Had no idea what it was about. I was taken in by the story and waited eagerly as it unraveled. A definite must read/listen for anyone who enjoys crime novels.
Read full review

- Christiana

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-25-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio