Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Loyalty has a price.
Kay Hunter has survived a vicious attack at the hands of one of the country's most evil serial killers.
Returning to work after an enforced absence to recover, she discovers she wasn't the only victim of that investigation. DI Devon Sharp remains suspended from duties, and the team is in turmoil.
Determined to prove herself once more and clear his name, Kay undertakes to solve a cold case that links Sharp to his accuser.
But as she gets closer to the truth, she realizes her inquiries could do more harm than good.
Torn between protecting her mentor and finding out the truth, the consequences of Kay's inquiries will reach far beyond her new role....
Call to Arms is a gripping murder mystery,and the fifth in the Detective Kay Hunter series:


    Scared to Death
    Will to Live
    One to Watch
    Hell to Pay
    Call to Arms
 A page-turning murder mystery for fans of Peter Robinson, David Baldacci, and Harlen Coben.  
©2018 Rachel Amphlett (P)2018 Rachel Amphlett
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By DabOfDarkness on 06-12-18

This series keeps giving and giving

Note: This is Book 5 in the series and works mostly fine as a stand alone though is best read as part of the series to get the most out of it.

This series continues to deliver! This time Kay Hunter has a cold case to investigate. She’s been on medical leave since the events of the previous book. Now that she’s back, she’s been stuck on desk duty while her boss, Sharp, is on suspension pending the outcome of a formal internal investigation. Kay and her team think that’s all bull and want to do everything they can to get their boss back. But first Kay needs Larch’s blessing. She and Larch have never seen eye to eye. I really started to form an attachment to Larch in this book, seeing the more human side to him.

About a decade ago, there was a motorcycle fatality that was ruled an accident but Sharp has always suspected there was more to it. Now Kay and her team dig out the old reports and start re-interviewing friends, coworkers, and family of the dead man (Jaime). Everyone agrees that Jaime was an excellent motorcyclist but the weather was bad that night and even the best can make a fatal error. I did think this was the one weak spot in the story. The stats don’t sugarcoat motorcycle fatalities and sometimes the driver simply makes a fatal error. However, no one on Kay’s team really takes this possibility seriously and so they were predisposed to find another cause. They do spend some time mulling over wildlife or debris on the road, saying that if it had been a rabbit, they would have found the carcass on the side of the road. As if no predators might come along and make off with it…. Anyway, this one little weak spot didn’t ruin the book for me.

Jaime’s parents (Michael and Brigit?) still live on the family farm. His twin sister Natalie is nearby as well. He worked for the military so Kay and her team dig into his activities and discover a surprise! The more they look into this matter, the more it looks like someone put the pressure on to rule Jaime’s death an accident.

Towards the end, Kay is hot on the trail of one of the bad guys and she and another cop enter a house with just their wits and expanding batons. Yep. Now if I hadn’t recently watched Hard Sun and seen just how efficiently vicious a trained person can be with an expanding baton, I would have called Kay a twit for going into an unknown situation without some more serious hardware.

The end of the story had me raising a pint for Kay and her team. I’ve come to really enjoy this series and this book is another worthy addition. 5/5 stars.

The Narration: Alison Campbell has turned out to be a good pick for this series. Her performance needed a little polishing with the earlier books but with this one she has given a great performance. She’s the perfect Kay Hunter. All her characters have distinct voices and her male characters sound masculine. Campbell also does a great job with all the emotions in this tale. There were no recording issues. 5/5 stars.

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Rachel Amphlett. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Book Addict on 06-06-18

A Cold Case that Shocks!

Kay Hunter is finally back at work after her injuries from her last case. After finding out Williamson is corrupt, and was responsible for her injuries. While in prison the allegations he has made against DI Devon Sharp. Her direct boss is on forced leave until Kay can clear him of the allegations .
So we start with Kay working on a 10 year old cold case. The case is of a soldier who is killed in a motorcycle accident. Doubts were raised, but never investigated properly.
This is what appears to be a simple case. Unfortunately the investigation uncovers much more than anyone is expecting. I love a good detective series, and this is a good series. It makes you feel like you are there discovering the clues with them. I really enjoyed this for many reasons. I felt I was in the middle of the story with a huge cast of characters, what always surprises me when I get to the end and there is only one narrator. The other is it finishes to quickly, so I now am waiting for book six
I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Rachel Amphlett. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.
 

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Book Addict on 05-30-18

I Love this series, and every book gets better!

Kay Hunter is finally back at work after her injuries from her last case. After finding out Williamson is corrupt, and was responsible for her injuries. While in prison the allegations he has made against DI Devon Sharp. Her direct boss is on forced leave until Kay can clear him of the allegations .
So we start with Kay working on a 10 year old cold case. The case is of a soldier who is killed in a motorcycle accident. Doubts were raised, but never investigated properly.
This is a case of following what appears to be a simple case. The investigation uncovers much more than anyone is expecting. I love a good detective series, and this is a good series. It makes you feel like you are there discovering the clues with them. I really enjoyed this for many reasons. I felt I was in the middle of the story with a huge cast of characters, what always surprises me when I get to the end and there is only one narrator. The other is it finishes to quickly, so I now am waiting for book six.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 04-19-18

Awesome

Fantastic series that just gets better and better. Highly recommended, as are all the Rachel Amphlett books.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews