'C' is for Coochy Coo : Malibu Mystery

  • by Sean Black, Rebecca Cantrell
  • Narrated by Madeline Mrozek
  • Series: Malibu Mystery
  • 5 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The third book in the brand new fast-paced, funny series that's perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books.
Former child star Sofia Salgado is finding her feet as a trainee investigator at Malibu detective agency, Maloney Investigations, when a new case throws her, and everyone else at the agency, for a loop. Maloney Investigations are drafted in to help 13-year-old Daniel find his birth father. There's only one snag. According to Daniel's mom, former Los Angeles party girl, Candy Collins, there's more than one candidate - a lot more!

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

i totally love this series!!

I received this book for free for an honest and unbiased review.

Ok so I received the 2nd book in the series as a review book also, it is "B is for Badgirls" and I had ranted on why authors start you in the middle of a series to review. Well after reviewing that book I went ahead and bought the first book "A is for Asshats". I love the titles of her books and they fit the stories perfectly!
This book is great too, I now officially love this series. I have fallen in love with the entire cast of characters. So a former child actor turns PI and helps solve cases. This case involves finding the father of a child whose mother had "gotten around" there were many clients to go through. It is another solid story, with humor. At one point Aiden is at the table with the client texting inappropriate jokes to Sheby, who is also at the table and it was fun to hear the interactions.
I am going to continue to follow this series no matter what, the narrator did a great job as well.
I would definitely recommend this book to my friends.

Happy Reading/Listening!!!
Read full review

- Lisa

Good Fun

Although the subject matter is serious and kidney failure and dialysis could have been explained in a more detailed way (I, for one, would have liked to hear why Daniel's kidneys were failing and he had to be on dialysis), this was a light and thoroguhly entertaining listen. You can pick up the series here and not feel like you are missing a lot of backstory. This is a standalone book.

The dialogue between Sofia and Aiden was really dynamic and did remind me of Stephanie Plum with a more West Coast rhythm than the harder edge of the Plum series. At one point, they were talking with Daniel's mother, and trying to get the names of all the potential father's to track down in hopes of a getting a match for Daniel for a kidney transplant. Aiden kept texting innuendo's to Sofia. It had me laughing in my car by myself.

The book is about the Malibu Detective Agency taking on a pro bono case in order to help locate a 13 year old boy's biological father in the hopes of obtaining a match for a kidney transplant. Daniel's kidneys are failing...rapidly. The only problem is Daniel's mother was a LA party girl and there are a lot of potential fathers to try to get DNA matches from.

For me, the narration was excellent! Madeline Mrozek voiced each character differently and nailed both Sofia and Candy, while doing an awesome job on all the other characters as well. Her cadence, timing, and inflection were really good as well. I really enjoyed listening to her and will look for other books narrated by her.

In the end, would I listen to the rest of the series based from my experience listening to this one? Yes! They are already in my wish list.

I received this audiobook for free through Audiobook Boom! in exchange for an honest review.
Read full review

- Reg

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-05-2016
  • Publisher: Sean Black