Buttons and Bones : Needlecraft Mysteries

  • by Monica Ferris
  • Narrated by Susan Boyce
  • Series: Needlecraft Mysteries
  • 6 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Owner of the Crewel World needlework shop and part-time sleuth Betsy Devonshire heads for the Minnesota north woods to renovate an old cabin. But beneath the awful linoleum is something even uglier - the skeleton of a Nazi. Betsy's investigation yields the site of a former German POW camp, a mysterious crocheted rug, and an intricately designed pattern of clues to a decades-old crime.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One of the best Needlecrafts! (And performers)

What about Susan Boyce’s performance did you like?

I'm so glad to be back in Susan Boyce's performance of this series. She is a terrific narrator, and gets characters of all ages, genders, and personalities to come alive. I was disappointed by the few books in the middle of this series that were read by other narrators, but knowing I would get back to her was incentive to keep listening.

Any additional comments?

I think this is one of the best of the Needlecraft mysteries. Ferris is good, but she gets a little long-winded in some of her books. This one comes back to crafty, concise writing, with a pretty good balance of needlecraft information (perhaps not quite enough, but pretty good).

This whole series has drawn me back into crochet (with thoughts about some of the other needlework I've done), and there were some intriguing tidbits in this book about patterns that I'd love to see, though she only links to a cross-stitch pattern (not my cup o' tea - I'm a free form crewel work or crochet kind of gal).

Read full review


Too Sweet

Maybe it's me, but the plot wasn't much and easy to figure out -- the cops looked like idiots -- one major clue was obvious to a middle school kid -- and the soap opera -- which was used to stuff the book -- was repetitive and DULL.
Read full review

- Lavinia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-12-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.